Squid Game kind of lulls after the first episode (SPOILERS)

in #netflix3 years ago

Don't get the wrong idea, I still think people should watch this because it is fantastic but after the first episode, which is one of the best things I have seen on television in quite some time, it was always going to be kind of tough to top that or even keep the episodes as good as that one was.

This is what happens in I would say episodes 2 and 3 of the series.

DO NOT READ THIS IF YOU INTEND TO WATCH THE SERIES and haven't done so yet


image.png
src

So after being introduced to "Red Light / Green Light" in episode 1 we have some down time for the next couple of episodes where there is just a lot of talking and not a great deal of action. I suppose character development is necessary.


image.png
src

There is still quite a bit of action and they also stick to the rather childish nature of the games that they are playing, which is good because that is what made the games so exciting. The games were something that all of us could relate to in a way because there is a good chance that you played some adaptation of them when you were younger.

However, this is the part of the season that I think that if someone were to bail out on the season this is where it would happen. In lieu of non-stop action the likes of which we saw in episode 1, instead we get a lot of character development and a ton of dialogue.


image.png
src

I suppose this is necessary for both the overall story and because of the fact that the action sequences are of course considerably more difficult and expensive for them to film. One thing that may prove a bit of a challenge is the fact that all but one or two of the characters have Korean names as you would expect from a series that is taking place in Korea. Korean names are very difficult for westerners to remember and distinguish from one another so a lot of the time I didn't have any idea who they were referring to.

I think the creators anticipated this and this is why for the most part the people in the story are referred to as their numbers on their shirts rather than their names.

If you find yourself getting a bit bored in episodes 2 and 3 do yourself a favor and do not give up on this series. Even with the brief lull in the action this is still one of the greatest Netflix specials I have ever seen and also one of the best entertainment of any sort that I have seen in the past couple of years.

If you haven't started watching this show yet, you really should do so but also keep in mind that unless you are Korean, you are going to have to read the show and it is kind of important that you do so as well. Otherwise you will end up kind of lost and that would be a shame since this show is so good.


photodune-6774981-recommended-grunge-red-stamp-xs-643x272.jpg

Sort:  

I Just concluded the entire season... I absolutely Love it and recommend it to everyone that has not seen it.

I can't wait for the next season to come out. I was screaming at the end of the first season because "he got off the plane".... only those that have watched it will understand my pain 🤣🤣🤣.

Thank you for reminding me about how awesome this movie is.
I Just followed you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62978.31
ETH 2546.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76