The OA (netflix series): Interesting at times but "get on with it already!"

in #netflix5 years ago

The OA is a science-fiction series of sorts but also has touches of fantasy and mysticism wound in. I like the idea behind it all but for the first 2 episodes or so, the story moves extremely slow and I can see why many people would be turned off by this.


source

The story centers around one major character named Prarie (played by Brit Marling, who is actually a great actor) she disappeared for 7 years and now she is back and she is calling herself the "OA." Her belief in supernatural powers is someone validated by the fact that when she disappeared she was blind, but now she is not. It is kind of silly that no one believes her and she is simply declared insane. If I was a doctor and someone magically got cured of blindness, I might listen to their stories and take them seriously.


source

The story is an interesting one but the problem that this series has is the same thing that plagues so many other Netflix series. It just takes too damn long to get moving. Almost nothing happens in the first 2 episodes and I only carried on because it has been a while since I saw something sci-fi oriented that was actually good. I am now on episode 3 and I can only hope that they get things moving. Prarie (the OA) claims to be able to open portals to other dimensions and I would really like to see some of that. So far there has barely been any talk about it.

I'm not going to give up on this because it looks like it has real potential. However, I would imagine that 90% of the viewers, particularly those with only a mild interest in sci-fi, would probably switch the show off before the end of episode 1. I'll keep going and report back. For now, I can't really recommend this series because it is actually difficult to stay focused on it because it is a bit boring.

Rating intentionally withheld until more intel can be gathered

Sort:  

This one is on my watchlist. I hope that it develops a bit faster in the next episodes. I hate it that so many netflix productions are so slow ...

I think I will wait until you have seen more of it xD
I still have to watch some episodes of star trek discovery and the final season of black mirror

I've seen the series two years ago and I kind of have the same opinion about it. Jason Isaacs is one of my favorite actors, I'm a huge fan and have seen almost all his the movies but this was not something I remember when I think of him. He had a good performance, which can't be said about Brit Marling. She's irritating. I think the series could have been more interesting with a better script. Too much time wasted on unimportant things.

This series is so awesome! Watching season 2 at the moment - I will be sad in a few days, when I have watched the last episode of season 2 :-(
May god be with me! ♥

In my eyes, this series gets pretty interesting when you watch season 2. Season 1 was good already, but season 2 is toooo good!

ok, i'll keep going then. thanks :)

I couldn't get into it. But I really enjoyed 'the Order'. Its not great, but it entertained me

Ah dude, series should have learned by now! Don’t make us wait! There are too many options for us to be able to sit around and wait for shit to happen...

Side note - I started watching evil genius that you wrote about last week... that’s crazy man! Cant believe I hadn’t heard of that case...

Yeah it gets pretty interesting! Im watching the 2nd season now and its still going slow, worthit though, I think!

Posted using Partiko Android

I watched season 1 when it first came out.. It was quite the roller coaster ride. Thank God you are watching it now that season 2 is here, otherwise you'd be like WTF for a year.

We just started season 2. Enjoy!

I couldn't get into it. But I really enjoyed 'the Order'. Its not great, but it entertained me😎

I’m going to check it out because now I’m curious ❤️☕️ happy Monday my Steem friend !

Posted using Partiko iOS

I am up for any sci-fi movie, but sometimes they tend to be boring which is absurd, although Netflix is a great platform which showcases several kind of series and movies.
Don't you think Netflix and amazon prime have reduced the no. of spectators for television?(p.s- I have stopped watching t.v. due to them)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60699.39
ETH 2655.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59