Kingdom (netflix series) - It's Walking Dead, in Korea

in #netflix6 years ago

I am not sure if many of you will even be able to watch this as I am aware that the offerings on Netflix vary from region to region. I may only have access to this series because I am actually in Asia. Who knows.


source

Of course the entire show is in Korean, so you will either need to be able to speak that, or read English subtitles quite quickly at a times. This is a Netflix produced series and it seems to have a very high level of production value. I can't find any statistics online but it looks like they spent a great deal of money on making this.


source

It takes place in Korea during the Joseon period, which spanned 500 years so it is difficult to tell, but there are no firearms so that kind of narrows it down but whatever, it doesn't matter. I don't think they are actually basing this on actual rulers because that would probably be disrespectful and Koreans tend to avoid being like that. Moving on.

The setting is one of the Royal family who has some problems because the son was attempting to stage a coup because he believes the King is actually dead and the Queen is concealing this fact while she waits for her son to be born, thus passing the throne to her son instead of him. Confused yet? I don't really know what is going on there either. Basically we are supposed to believe Queen=bad / Crown Prince=good.


source
Queen=bad!

It is an interesting story but then because of some botched medical something or other and also some odd decisions on the part of a particular character, people start turning into undead. To be honest, when this started happening I nearly turned it off because I feel like the zombie thing has been overdone on a global scale. There's just too much of it and although I can't say for sure I think people are sick of Walking Dead also. I dunno. I know I am.


source

However, there are some differences so i suppose it isn't exactly the same show. At least up to this point there are no guns so killing them is a far more difficult matter, when bitten by them you turn into one of them almost immediately rather than needing to die first, and they are inactive during the day where they seem to go into a coma of sorts.

I am still watching this one because I enjoy the sword fights and the stuff with the Royal family is actually quite interesting to me. I am not terribly interested in the usual zombie shite but it is exciting at times I guess. It is a little frustrating that no matter who is telling it to them, every official scoffs at the idea and refuses to prepare for the oncoming horde until it is too late. I hope this recurring theme changes.

Because of the production value and the fact that Rick and his whiny kid aren't in it, i would say go ahead and give this one a shot. I would be interested to hear what you have to say about it.

Sort:  

I just checked and you can get it in the US

oh good. thanks for the tip!

We watched the trailer last week and instantly added it to our watch list xD
I love all kind of zombie movies/series, and I love these feudal settings so this one fits perfectly.

"rather than needing to die first,"

That's a big timesaver!

I just checked as well and this is also available in Netflix Mexico. I guess Netflix´s productions are not region-limited.

I´ll surely take a look into it.

I'm in Canada, I've just started this show and there's an option for audio or subtitles to be in english, so it's nice and accessible. I love zombie shows and recently I've been getting into asian dramas so I'm really excited to watch this!

Honestly one of my favorites. I watched it after seeing Train to Busan.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63837.42
ETH 2539.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65