Additional Parenting Duties - Netball Committee??? WTF?

in #netball6 years ago

free-netball-vector.png

Today I was asked to be on a Netball Committee???? WTF? In addition to the long hours I commit to my job and the never ending things that it takes to be a Dad, I was also asked if I wanted to commit additional hours in my week (of which I have none) to being on my daughters Netball committee.


There are a few reasons why I ultimately declined to be a part of this:

  1. Time - every parent knows how time poor they are. The committee meetings do not allow children to be present and your commitment to the role includes a few hours a week for organisation and then losing your Saturday to help at during the season.

  2. Netball Interest - My interest in Netball as a sport starts and stops with my daughters participation in it. I wouldn't go to a professional game or even have the foggiest idea about the rules. I go along every Saturday to watch, encourage, support and drink coffee.

  3. A 'Gaggle' of ladies Meeting - the final thing for me is that I also have no interest in sitting down for an hour or two a week and having a meeting about a sport I have no interest in with a group of passionate ladies. Now I am no testosterone laden lad who hates ladies, but I could think of nothing worse than listening to the hysterics and excitement of a weekly committee meeting fully lady laden!


Now I do feel a little bad for the Netball Club as they are struggling to find committee members to run an integral component of the netball club. It is getting more difficult to find people who are willing to commit extra time these days as society becomes more and more aware of the preciousness of time, and the scarcity that time is becoming.

Thanks for reading!


Make Sure To Vote For These
Awesome Steem Witnesses!

DQmcRhugXJtKG9NtzBxvgVYr7YB5rg2Rvziokw7i8uU88fb.png


Come and join us in the Team Australia Discord Channel

Thanks to @ryivhnn and @bearone for the fantastic footers :)

Sort:  

Committees show you a whole other side to sport, maybe a side best left alone if you're nkt passionate bout the sport. I've been asked many times to join my son's club committee and have managed to stay mosty out of the way.

A lot of time is spent running the club, and I do admire the effort that those who take on the load, but man!! There can be a lot if political nonsense that goes on.

Rather sit back with your coffee and enjoy watching the kids run around and having fun!

Yeah. I'm not passionate about the sport and have enough on my plate working full-time. My hat goes off to those that do it though!

Tell them "yeah, nah, fuck off. I'm not doing that". You're welcome.

Hello friend I am new on Steemit please support me and up vote on my comment

Why would I upvote your comment when you have not done anything other than beg for an upvote. Here is a little tip for you: Comment with something worthwhile and I will upvote your comment. Otherwise this is just SPAM!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25