A cool night on the boardwalk

in #nerdlair7 years ago

The weather last night in Manitoba was a shuddering -41 celsius. So, my buddies and I decided to get together and check out one of the cities newest spots. The BoardGame Empire. They offer a variety of board games, and video games. Equipped with a nintendo VR headset, and $6000 all in one 4k emulated pinball machine with like 4000 games on it. A variety of consoles, and an arcade machine that also houses all of the retro games you can imagine.

So, we arrived to a Yu-Gi-Oh card tournament. The store was bustling with sweaty teenage nerds. This place is a safe haven from pretentious jock types alike for everyone to get together. Personally, I've been playing board games for as long as I can remember. I started playing Dungeons and Dragons style RPG's at the age of 8. Thanks to a very patient and kind man that was a part of my life at an early age.


This is the King of Tokyo game. Very rampage'esque, and brought into a board game style for lots of fun.

We also played the expanded version of Settler's of Catan, and a fast few games of poker. We realized poker isn't as much fun when you can't gamble for actual money. We just made bids like it didn't matter, being as we were in a licensed establishment.

I know there are a number of these style of shops across our fine nation, but I haven't been to this one in a while.

The chance to get together with my best friends from highschool was welcomed and well recieved. A few of them have started their families, and have been consumed with married life. So, it was great just to sit down and act like the fools we are.

A few tears of joy were shared. Alot of laughter and excitement!

So much fun!

photo credit goes to my homey Dustin, and myself

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62493.96
ETH 2440.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64