This post is inspired by one going through sorting through the death of a loved one, and being hounded by the Neptune Society.

in #neptune2 years ago

image.png

As an elderly person, I've been getting my afterlife stuff in order. So, just offering this up for info purposes to anyone it might help. I did contact the Neptune Society. All I want is a simple cremation, they wanted a few thousand dollars insurance for that. So, I did some local research. I found a family operated mortuary in Seattle that allowed me to put 1K in a trust account guaranteeing that those left to process my death only need to notify them, and it is all paid for.

Personally, I have no children and no direct heirs, but I have been in the position to try and sort out the affairs of friends who basically left a mess and the state got their assets. I do own a home without a mortgage and a bit of stuff, far from rich. But, I've had good friends, and have a Will.

I do think it's important to have a Will and make life a bit easier for those that are left to clean everything up after we leave this realm.

I mean, really, if you have never had the experience of going through the deceased's underwear drawers while trying to find their personal papers, etc., the greatest gift we can give to those that are left to clean our lives up later is to just make it easier, and show some gratitude for their efforts.

After all, at that point, we are sitting on a cloud somewhere surveying an entire new experience, and thinking, so that's what that was all about!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59200.90
ETH 2601.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41