When Did You Meet Adventure?

in #nepal8 years ago

Do you like stories? What kind of stories do you like?

Growing up I thought my life could be a movie, I mean, don’t all teenagers think that their life is a narrated drama? However what I realized quickly was that it wasn’t very interesting. I was dissatisfied with the day-to-day mundane routines, and sought ways to make my life more interesting, like travel and adventure...


a little seaside hut in Myanmar

Now that I am grown, I realize that not every single day will be a fascinating observance (and I am also a lot less self-absorbed), however I’ve found there can be whimsy and adventure to even the most domestic of lives. I find that I most like the stories of real people, and what they have achieved and overcome in their lives.


a nepali wedding band

I was fortunate enough to travel the world for a year at just 23. I have walked through the busiest of cities and the most remote villages on mountainsides. I have been able to meet all types of people, and to live as they live, and try the strangest and most delicious foods. I’ve flown, boated, tuk-tuked and walked for miles. I have even snuck into a country with no passport stamp. I have known the thrill of adventure, and after all that I came back to my little hometown of just 10,000 people and our biggest store is walmart. Let me tell you, it’s a little bit of a challenge, doing all that and then coming back here. Sometimes I reminisce and wonder if all that was even real? Sometimes, it seems too good to be true, that I lived that life.
However I’ve come to believe every day is an opportunity, no matter what you are doing, or where you are.

An opportunity to live, to connect, and to make your day better by making someone else’s day brighter. I have found my passion in connecting with the everyday folk that I encounter, and want to go deeper. I want to find my new adventure by learning about their lives, the stories nobody really knows. Everyone has a story, and everyone has overcome something. The resilience of the human spirit never ceases to amaze me. This is what I want to capture, and share it with you, in hopes that you too can see, how even in the everyday lives you meet, there is beauty.

How have you been able to experience adventure in your life, big or small? How has that influenced where you are now? Where do you want it to take you next?


the beach-life penguins of South Africa

Sort:  

I need to write an intro-post. Life is totally an adventure.
When you go adventuring you learn to depend on yourself and your limited resources. You learn that really life is easy and simple and full of wonderful visions.
Recently I've been traveling and cycling in Victoria Australia, and across Tasmania. The ferry from Melbourne is pretty cool, you can stick your bicycle on and then ride away! Now I've moved to England. I cycled from from Heathrow to Brighton on the south coast. It's lovely!!

I recall the first time I camped in the wild... I just strung up my hammock on the coast of Tasmania, close to Hobart, and watched the boats until all I could see was the million stars. In the morning I was still alive, that was a breakthrough as silly as it sounds. I realized I could travel, see the world and not need a home to always hold me.

What small town are you from? I lived in Bentonville, Arkansas for 10 years. The hometown of Walmart. :)

Wow that sounds amazing! Travel is definitely addictive, isnt is? Australia is one place I haven't been yet but really want to go. I am from little ole Paris Tennessee :)

Oh goodness. Yes I know it.
Travel can be a way of life even more than an addiction. There's a movement of "steemians" who just blog and travel and make enough to fund their travels. Very cool.
I understand why you'd wanna leave Paris. Maybe come to the other Paris!

So true. There is a always a story to tell no matter where you are. You just have to look for it. I look forward to reading about your backwoods adventures.

Congratulations @serendipity! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62094.36
ETH 2436.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50