What a week

in #neoxian5 years ago

So, early in the week, I learned that I booked a role in a piece of immersive theatre. Then had two auditions Friday for things that would be big and exciting for me if I booked them. Had a rehearsal for one thing Saturday morning, and a show for another Saturday night...

These little bursts of "this is what it could be like to be a working actor" remind me that it's not so incredible that I do this... these burst could come closer together or lead to longer gigs or could build on each other...

I mean, I perform a lot. There's no dearth of opportunities, and many of them pay a small stipend. There are teaching opportunities, too, but...

Butt.

Nothing. Just,

Nothing.

Anywhoodles.

A career is not built on $50 and $100 gigs here and there. It's built from one body of work leading to another, and networks and communities working together on project after project.

The communities are there, they just aren't quite collaborating efficiently. We always run into resource deserts.

Le sigh.

Poverty is a crappy bicycle. It'll get you there, you think, but if you try going too fast, the front wheel will come off, sending you over the handlebars and smashing your teeth in.

Sort:  

Thank you for being a part of the INCOME entertainment Fund, where builders are sought and supported!

This service is managed by @ecoinstant.

$trendotoken

Congratulations @ecoinstats, you successfuly trended the post shared by @improv!
@improv will receive 3.27208613 TRDO & @ecoinstats will get 2.18139075 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Keep plugging away bud.
Slow and steady....keeps your teeth intact.

Of course, if where I'm going closes before I get there, it won't matter if my teeth are intact or not.

When the sun sets, that's it.

Congratulations @improv, your post successfully recieved 3.27208613 TRDO from below listed TRENDO callers:

@ecoinstats earned : 2.18139075 TRDO curation


To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Congrats on landing a couple of roles! I bet the bursts will come closer together.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61137.27
ETH 2383.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52