Why Can't NEO Be Sent In Fractions?

in #neo7 years ago

Does anyone have the answer to this one? -- anyone who has a Quality answer, will get some sbd sent your way today as a token of my appreciation...

I did some searches on Google and found a few conversations on Reddit but none seemed to address directly what I'm looking for. I purchased some NEO on bittrex and noticed when I was ready to send it to my NEON Wallet, that bittrex had a notice!

The notice says, "NEO Cannot be sent in fractions. If you send 100.23 NEO you will receive 100 NEO. I thought to myself, 'how is that even possible?'

Granted I'm new to the space, but is this 'new' or 'unique' for a Coin to be 'unable' to be sent from an exchange to a wallet, in fractions? I had to leave a whole .5 of NEO on the books at bittrex.

The exchange rate was .1 NEO so that left me with .4 - not sure how I feel about that alone, if you check the price of .1 NEO right now. Little things like that, always get under my skin a tad.

Because the 'principles' matter.

That's a super high transaction fee.

Then there is the business of the .4 NEO That's now stuck on bittrex? Are they secretly storing 'GAS' on a wallet they're hiding? (random wild thought - don't run with that, I have no evidence; I'm merely posing the question?!?! as this is a wtf explanation of a wtf situation .... imo) ..........

That being said I did the NEON Wallet set up; Earning Gas off of what's stored there has been pretty cool. I'd invest in more but, like so many cryptos do, they like to make things difficult, for the new people. If anyone can help me understand why bittrex is .... seemingly robbing tf out of NEO holders, that'd be great as well!

Thanks, as always for dropping in!!

Sort:  

I don't have an answer BUT Bittrex did lower their withdrawal fee to 0.025 NEO... Also looking for an answer about divisibility :-) I could see why you would want a transaction minimum but non divisibility for an expensive coin is strange.

it's more than just no divisibility... if you are at 3.9 and you try to BUY a small amount so that you can clear 4, the f*ckin' exchange tells you that you cannot do that. To me that is THEFT of the other 60 dollars. (the .9 NEO.) that is VERY immoral behavior on their part.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56677.48
ETH 2329.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36