What I Picked up Today at Europe’s Biggest NEO Event - NEO @ Amsterdam

in #neo6 years ago

Today I attended the NEO Europe Tour at the DeLaMar theatre in Amsterdam. I have to say, the event was pretty well organised. Compliments to Distributed.Foundation :-)


20180414_111347.jpg

Personally I really enjoy real-life meetups and conferences about blockchain and crypto and try to attend them regularly. It takes everybody away from their laptops and opens the mind for new insights, ideas and discussions.

The program for today was as follows:


Screen Shot 2018-04-14 at 21.32.25.png

Before the event started I was looking forward mostly to the talks from RMIT, Ontology and NEO (Da Hongfei). Some other talks turned out to be interesting and entertaining as well. I made notes for myself and took quite some pictures of interesting slides. I share some of them with you below

Interesting snapshots


I really liked to talk from professor Jason Potts (https://twitter.com/profjasonpotts) about cryptoeconomics. His message was basically that trust is costly and blockchain is a way to realise artificial trust which is much cheaper. Therefore blockchain is so much more than just a technology. Blockchain is an institutional technology for making economies. "Blockchain is a new economic infrastructure".


20180414_115624.jpg


20180414_120402.jpg


20180414_120849.jpg


20180414_121248.jpg


The talk from Ontology was actually not very in-depth and therefore a bit less interesting than I expected. Still it is nice to hear about its vision and future plans of course :-)


20180414_124056.jpg


Switcheo (an already live DEX on the NEO blockchain) also presented and it was quite a good talk. DEXs is one of the main themes in 2018 and it is good to see so many projects working on it. Interesting to see the 'Expanding List' of tokens listed on Switcheo:


20180414_125342.jpg


After the break it was uncle Da (Hongfei) who took us with him on a trip down memory lane. He started with some anekdotes about himself: how he hacked some computers in the early days, his attempt to start a similar concept like BitFinex with merging orderbooks from MtGox.com and Da's MtGox.cn which never saw the light of day etc. Then he told us about the early days of Neo (Antshares) until now and said a few things about the future.


20180414_140631.jpg


20180414_141458.jpg


20180414_141951.jpg


20180414_142351.jpg


20180414_142532.jpg


20180414_143314.jpg


20180414_144308.jpg


20180414_145137.jpg


Da ended his talk with the reorganization of the NEO Council:


20180414_145418.jpg


After that, Dean van Dugteren revealed some things about nOS, the virtual operating system for a new transparant internet, powered by the NEO blockchain.


20180414_151006.jpg

There were more talks and presentation but these were the ones standing out to me (and that I have photos of ;-) ).

I just want highlight one more, since that was quite funny. Alan Fong from Moonlight (a decentralized workforce platform) started his presentation talking with 'How to run a scam ICO and GET RICH $$$ followed by the imaginary project called 'NeoKonnect' :-P Compliments for the entertainment Alan!


20180414_164551.jpg


20180414_164722.jpg


20180414_164922.jpg

All in all it was a great event! Interesting projects and talks. I recommend everybody to join events like these or just some small meetups :-)

When I find a link to the video recording I will share it with you as well.

Ohyeah, and I got a t-shirt ;-)


20180414_181343.jpg

Ciao!


---> 👍🏼 Follow me for regular updates on my cryptocurrency portfolio, crypto related articles and inspiring articles about personal time & life management.
---> 👍🏼 Resteems and upvotes are appreciated ;-)


Disclaimer: I am not a financial advisor, trader or developer. I am just a blockchain & cryptocurrencies enthusiast. Make sure you do your own research, draw your own conclusions and do not invest any money that you cannot afford to lose.

Sort:  

Seems like an overall good day! I saw the live stream was over 6 hours long.. wow, quite a long sitting.

I skimmed through it a bit to see what I'd missed. I'd be most interested in the Ontology, Alchemint, nOS and NEX presentations. Too bad the Ontology presentation wasn't that great (and no tokens, boo!)

The NeoKonnect presentation I saw on Youtube before, but it's a pretty funny one yes. That young guy (kid??) is actually pretty damn smart and capable from the looks and sound of it - he's one of the co-founders of CoZ! I love that. Blockchain doesn't care who you are, even 16 year olds are an integral part of it!

Did you get to shake hands with Da Hongfei?

A long day indeed, but interesting and luckily with some breaks :-)

Yeah that Alan guy was really awesome!

Didn't shake hands with Da, didn't feel like being part of the crowd waiting in the selfie-line that built up in front of him :-P

Was also there at the Neo conference in Amsterdam. Up until now I did very limited research on Neo, but I was surprised to see how well thought the next steps are and how much they are investing in building a hollistic ecosystem that creates added value and solutions that might solve current data privacy or security issues. In this speed it will overtake Ethereum already in 2019

Cool, next time we should grab a beer afterwards or something!

Man you attend the best conferences. I with there were some here I could attend but I am not in a huge European hub, I will just have to keep reading your reports til I can get my ass back to Amsterdam. It will happen I swear.

And when you do get back, let's have a beer!

Great post! Thanks for sharing. NEO is definitely a must-have in every crypto portfolio imo.

You're welcome Max!

Thanks for reporting on the event. Solid info. NEO is a great crypto!

Guess the t-shirt was worth the entrance fee ;)

Nice recap of the event. I’m actually on a similar event now, but on the subject of safety and security, maybe not the most interesting subject for common people. Thanx for posting

Definitely ;-)

Safety and security of crypto?

Thanks for the post, well done, I'm in NEO, let's go higher!

Hahah, that would be nice!

This post has received a 5.82 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @cryptotem.

You got a 2.94% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @cryptotem!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 65174.92
ETH 3530.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51