You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hey Kids Go Play Some Video Games, Mommy's Tweeting & Daddy's Blogging - WAKE THE F UP

in #neglect5 years ago

I agree, its crazy how people ignore their kids. My wife says we need to start a kids youtube channel because others have done it and are successful financially bevause of it. I dont want my kid out in the world like that at all. I want to cherish his youth and ignorance to things rather than stick a camera in his face all day for money. Ive never posted photos of my kid on here or photos of us either. Theres too much data mining and then connect it all to photos? No thanks, personally.

I will admit that I’m also not completely innocent either. I do use my phone a bit when I’m home but I don’t think I am nearly as bad as lots of people I know with their kids.

Sort:  

Moderation and balance as the wise @soyrosa says. As long as you're aware and conscientious about it, good things come from that. As for people monetizing their kids, that makes my blood boil. Kids may make some money for the family, but it'll reshape their social values and skills to a degree we can't even project at this point. There may be some good in the short-term, but maybe not. There also may be some good in the long-term, and likely maybe not. Childhood actors don't seem to have a successful history in our film in recent decades. Despite parental involvement (assuming nothing like Michael Jackson's Dad), I think it's unnatural and a bit of using kids as a sideshow instead of raising them to be in tune with reality. In the end, loving themselves and others is the key for happiness, not followers and click advertising revenue.

Well said! I really don’t like the idea of making kids into actors and stars. There’s too many things that go on and they don’t know how to navigate it all, hell I wouldn’t know how to navigate it and I’m a damn adult. I also want a normal life for our kid, being famous isn’t easy if it happens and having normal friends just because they are friends is better than fake people trying to gain money or some shit off you because you’re popular. Thankfully we seem to keep the idea at bay but sometimes she really wants to, it’s tough.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60025.27
ETH 2417.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42