You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Do you think before you sew?

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago

Looking at the pictures of your clothes, I think you have quite a number of good colour combinations there between your skirts and sweaters.

For example, I think that that flowery skirt with light blue background could go well with most of your sweater colours. Of course, one would have to look at the shapes/lengths as well.
You have enough blue and grey shades in your sweaters to match those blue skirts in your wardrobe.

I recently heard one fashion personality talking about the fact that today fashion is all about the matching of contrasting things.
So if you keep that idea in mind, you could try and work on the matching of seemingly unrelated colours/shapes/fabrics - if done well, it can look really impressive!
Overall, I think, your colour palette seems really harmonious offering many different outfit options.

By the way, I absolutely adore that yellow tartan, beautiful colours!

Sort:  

I think I am sometimes a bit inhibited with the things I have made myself.... in putting good combinations together. And with the contrasting you are right, but I only loves this on photos or on other people, if I try it myself, I am totally insecure. Perhaps I must work more on my mindset than on my clothes 😅
The yellow tartan was a lucky chance. I love it too, and that’s the reason I still have not made something out of it. I am afraid to destroy it. I want to make a classic box pleated skirt with zipper.....

Oh, I really understand the feeling of insecurity. I remember the first time I wore something yellow (which wasn't bright at all) I felt totally exposed. But now I just love bold colour combinations :)
I'd say this colour matching thing is like a muscle if you exercise it, it gets stronger - don't stop, just go for it!

A classic box pleated skirt would look lovely made out of that yellow tartan. Just looked up some images on google - there are so many variations! The key is to choose the right one for you :DDD

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.11
ETH 2756.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66