Fast & Fluffy

in #needleworkmonday7 years ago

I was given a large bag of super chunky yarn from someone clearing out the yarn that they had not touched in years. It had been crocheted into half of a shawl, and I considered (though never got around to) finishing it. After sitting in a closet for several months and gathering dust, I finally decided that I would never use it even if I finished the shawl. Instead, I set about frogging the entire thing, leaving each 100g skein in its own little pile to help prevent knotting.

Using a 1 inch thick crochet hook, I started with a double crochet foundation row to add elasticity, and then crocheted the rest of the blanket with double crochet/chain, creating the box look. There are around 30 tiny skeins in this blanket, which means that I ended up knotting a lot of ends together (the yarn is one strand, which prevents a Russian join, and the stitch too loose to stay secure without tying the two ends together). Luckily, the knots hide pretty well in with the rest of the fluff.

A common assumption is that large equals time consuming, but this blanket (or perhaps I should say this yarn/hook/stitch combination) defies common wisdom. I was able to complete this blanket (large enough to fit on a double bed) in less than 4 hours. That 4 hours includes the time spent figuring out that I was making it too large for the amount of yarn that I had, frogging almost six inches, and starting over. It was also the first time that I had ever used a hook of that size, which slowed my progress quite a bit. You can do it!

Sort:  

Congratulations @thuban! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Looks super soft and fun! Thanks for sharing this

It is! :)

Wow. Nice. I have an unfinished project made with this yarn as well. I think I made a bad choice in pattern because it's so hard to work with.

It is definitely not the easiest yarn to work with and I probably will not be using it again in the near future, but it really does make a really soft end product.

You are so right about the assumption because when I first saw this I thought it took you days to complete instead of hours. I think you made a good choice by making something you knew you could use so this soft and thick yarn wouldn't go to waste. I have this same type of yarn in baby colors (light blue and pink) and I haven't gotten around to creating something with it yet. It looks so cozy, soft and warm! Thanks so much for sharing~ 😄

It is like dropping a Sea-Monkey in water; crochet and watch it grow! If you can get comfortable with a large hook, you will be amazed how quickly you can turn out a completed project.

Four hours for a double bed cover? That's so quick. I was wondering whether to ask my friend to teach me to crochet....you've encouraged me. Resteemed :)

It is a fairly loose stitch, but it works with how fluffy the yarn is. Hope to see a crochet post from you someday soon!

What a happy, bright piece of artistry! I wouldn't not have picked those colors if I was walking through the yarn market, but, I am absolutely delighted by how it turned out!

On another note, four hours?? Hello? I hope that you have made at least ten dozen of these fast-made blankets.

Fabulous job!

Upvoted and Resteemed

Alas, I only had enough yarn for one.

You are right about the colours, but how could I say no to a bag full of super chunky yarn?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60970.88
ETH 2634.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59