You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A week in knitting | Shortbread Inspirations

"I have become increasingly interested in how to render complex colour effects in knitting."

I have never tried knitting. However, I did cross-stitch and embroidery years ago, and developed an interesting technique. I don't know if it could be applied to knitting or not, but here it is, just in case!

Often, I would create my own cross-stitch patterns instead of using a factory-printed one. While trying to cross-stitch a scene from a photograph one day for a gift, I needed a color for the roof of a house that didn't exist in my rather large collection of cross-stitch floss. (The shingles on the roof weren't quite gray, and weren't quite brown.) So, I took a strand of two different colors and put them on the same needle and did the stitching. From a normal viewing distance, the two shades blended, perfectly, into the exact effect I needed!

Could this technique be something you could use? By the way, I really like that painting, too! It is wonderful! 😊

Sort:  

Yes, that's a great idea to get lots of more subtle effects. You would also get a textural effect, because for that area, the wool would be thicker. I want to try some experiments with crochet because it might be easier to change colours (many times), but you have set me thinking about dfferent samples now!
Thank you for commenting. Have you seen #needleworkmonday? People post all kinds of needlecraft ... on Mondays 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57956.22
ETH 3126.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45