Needlework Monday - Granny Squares Afghan

in #needleworkmonday4 years ago (edited)

This is a post dedicated to #needleworkmonday challenge hosted by @crosheille.

My granny squares adventure keeps going on. Last time I made a pillow cover from 18 squares. This project is much more ambitious, as I want to make many more granny squares. It is so much fun!

I’m calling this project afghan, because for now it is an indeterminate size. As far as I know, an Afghan can be anything from a throw, blanket, chair or wall decoration, to a bedspread. I want this to become a bedspread for my queen size bed. I am at 50-60 granny squares at this moment, so I’m half done so far.

9DA4C7D3-EAAD-41B9-96BD-BF28642AF994.jpeg

I chose bright colors, as I love to be surrounded by colors. I just realized that I basically used ‘superman’ colors. 😂🤣😂

1FAFB365-148E-4858-A2E2-31519F009F00.jpeg

The center is yellow, I made a regular double crochet circle with 3 DC, chain 2 pattern. The second row is bright fuchsia, same 3 DC shells, with chain 2 in between at corners. Row 3 cobalt blue, row 4 light blue.

6ED3F2DF-1DDD-42E8-8131-FF95F5E8AAC0.jpeg

The granny squares are universal, they are pretty the same for all crochet lovers. My squares are a little bit different because I like them tight, so I didn’t make any stitch in between the regular shells. I made only the 2 stitches at corners.

E6AE0917-B36B-4DBA-BC23-015DA4BB0C89.jpeg

Ohh... and another secret... I make in advance a bunch of squares with only two rows, or 3 rows, so I don’t get bored of changing the yarn, which can be kind of annoying.

Hope you like my work in progress, I will certainly take a photo of the final result, when finished.

blackdividersmall.png

Follow me and my stories smallbest.gif

steemusabanner.png

Sort:  

Thank you for using the recommended tag/s. This post has been manually rewarded with BUILD tokens in the form of an upvote. You can buy, stake, and exchange our "BUILD" tokens for steem on steem engine or SteemLeo

Build-it is a central hub for DIY and How-To projects. It's an opportunity to find and share the latest in DIY, and How-To tutorials. The recommended tags required when creating a DIY article are #diy, #build-it. #how-to, or #doityourself. Please subscribe to our community here

Chat with us on our discord and telegram channels Discord, Telegram.

Follow @build-it for more updates!

Nice job @starjewel!

There is a weekly contest set up by @build-it community. Try to check it out and earn some extra bucks for yourself ;)

https://www.build-it.io/hive-129017/@build-it/6xspem-build-it-contest-20-steem-2250-build-and-100-upvote-from-build-it-in-rewards

What an evolution from a pillow to a bedspread. As I wrote already last time. I am in love with crochet blankets but I cannot imagine to ever complete one. But you already have so many squares!!! I will send you supporting crochet vibes (and I am sure Superman loves this too)🌈

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75