You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Using T-shirt yarn to crochet ... A recycling adventure

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago (edited)

I'm really pleased you posted this, I have been accumulating cast off cotton jersey items (t-shirts, camis, leggings) in the garage and I've been starting to feel anxious about them - there's only so many cleaning clothes that any house needs!

I had been thinking about creating yarn, but had no idea where to start and, especially, how wide to cut the strips, so your post is perfect. I had also only been thinking sbout making new clothing items from them, but small bags and baskets would be perfect, and could be used instead of plastic containers.

@phoenixwren posted a while ago about making a padded/quilted curtain using cast-off items as the wadding, so sensible!

Sort:  

Thank you for the comment @shanibeer... I find the fabric made becomes quite sturdy so I feel it's ideal for little baskets / boxes... I'm planning to make a few to transport produce from the garden to the kitchen (I am always hopeful) in containers other than plastic bags so if they get dirty I can just put them in the wash.

That's a good idea. I was thinking of them for all those things in the garage/shed/workshop. What are you growing this year?

The soil's not so good around these parts @shanibeer, so we plant what works better (and we are organic so the quality's variable).
This year it will be potatoes, chard, spinach, cabbage (some of these are already in place; as we grow older we want to just have plants that will come back by themselves).
Last year we also managed to get tomatoes, carrots, broccoli and runner beans. The addition of a polytunnel should make things better too. I would really like to get more apples as we used to when we lived in Coventry :) Are you a gardener too? I am more of a 'supporter' as I get eczema in my hands so I avoid wearing gloves / soil :(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 58793.48
ETH 2508.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44