You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sometimes you need lateral knitting...

I laughed when I got to the end and read that the extension doesn't show, thanks to the annoying textured yarn! They are difficult to knit with, but I like the uneven texture that results. It's especially helpful for knitters like me whose knitting is very erratic. Great that you designed and tested your first pattern, grey can always be dressed up wth other colours 😊

Sort:  

I agree with you re the texture helping to hide uneven stitching because mine has never been perfect either @shanibeer... Unravelling was the nightmare really - and the fine threads getting caught...

That wasn't 'my first'. I knitted my first cardi when I was 16 after deciphering instructions for 'horseshoe' lace (not at all ambitious 😂 ).
In those days I didn't have my own camera or any idea of 'swatching' for tension... To cut a long story short, the stitch was marvellous but it was all a bit tight and after wearing it a few times I unravelled it and used the yarn on something else... I only learnt about tension swatching and proper drafting when I got the knitting machine - I even went to lessons to learn...
Actually I am still hoping to (one day) knit something without altering it 😌

Did you enjoy the knitting machine? I borrowed my sister's but I never got on with it 😳 I suppose it can be faster, but I like the rhythm of handknitting 😊.

I really enjoyed machine knitting because I'm not a neat knitter @shanibeer. The 'machine' does the tidy knitting for me... I found it also forced me to be more precise in my knitting - normally i don't even count stitches in hand knitting / crocheting 😏
I haven't done any for ages because of the noise and it's not as portable, but I'm looking forward to doing some more soon 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68988.65
ETH 3774.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43