Embroidering the Christmas Spirit

in #needleworkmonday4 years ago (edited)

20191224_023356.jpg

I needed to run away and do nothing but embroidery today since my stress levels are so extremely high due to a really bout of depression. Because of the move and the need to purchase a newer car, we have very little money left over. The budget has been so tight between hospital bills and day-to-day living that we have nothing left to purchase Christmas gifts for our children and Grand Georges. I know, first world problems, but we do not live an extravagant lifestyle so with one income, it has brought on some pretty hefty stress for us.


We decided we would spend time with each of our family members instead of giving them things. Since we love taking adventures, we decided a Christmas Adventure with a homemade ornament would be perfect for each of them. Grand George the Fourth was taken Holiday light looking Friday evening and we played his favorite Pentatonix Christmas album. He was thrilled and so excited. All we could hear from him was, "Wooooow!"


20191220_181305.jpg


GG2 asked to have a tour of the Pioneer Woman's Mercantile in Pawhuska. She is crazy about the cooking show and that was her only "Santa" request. The GG1 has been asking to go to three other states so we decided to take a day and enable him to visit the two tri-state markers for Kansas-Missouri-Oklahoma and Arkansas-Missouri-Oklahoma markers. He will be so excited.


When I am stressed, I tend to lock myself away and be as creative as I can be. I love embroidery because I get lost in the colors and pattern so I started this little quickie project at 11am this morning and only have two squares left to complete the bottom part of this pattern for #needleworkmonday.

Screenshot_20191224024717_Chrome.jpg
Screenshot from the DMC Philippines website. You can download the free pattern HERE


I decided to go with the Christmas colors so I could work on getting into the holiday spirit. The colors I used are: Christmas Red DMC #321, Green #905, and Kreinik Metallix Fine #8 Braid 001. The aiada cloth I am using is an 18 count white.


Thank you so much for taking time to read my post. Please tell me about Christmas embroidery project.



iSupportSteemTerminal.gif

duckystand.png


Have YOU thought about joining the Redfish Rally?


Visit the Steemterminal to find out more.

SteemTerminalBanner.jpg

Sort:  

You post has been manually curated by BDvoter Team! To know more about us please visit our website or join our Discord.

BDvoter Team

Having to budget everything is never easy, but it forces us to think about what there really is to bring joy to our lives. I love reading about the things you do with the children and the plan for the tristate markers is fabulous. I still remember when I was in the Alps as a child and did these "my left foot is in Austria, my right foot is in Germany" walks. You will surely have a lot of fun together!

And yes, needlework is great to distract ourselves from a lot of things and thoughts. And if afterwards we have something nice, like your embroidered heart - that's added profit :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95