Needlework Monday: The Brownie Bag

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago (edited)

What do you do with your old girl scout uniforms that your nostalgia hoarding self kept for decades?

You make a messenger bag out of them, of course.

(Confusion disclaimer: "Phe, you're a dude, girl scouts?" Yes, I'm a trans dude, ergo, girl scouts. Boy scouts would not have let me in in the 80s, eh?)

IMG_20150509_154853_kindlephoto-631416964.jpg

The brownie jumper is the outer body of the bag. And btw, I didn't alter it too much, I made this easy: fold the bottom skirt part like you are wrapping a boxy present with it; sew in place. Fold over top. Shoulder straps become closure straps when hooked around D rings you sew into the front of the bag. Sew the top parts together and add a zipper to make a flap pouch.

IMG_20150509_154929.jpg

Use the blouse as your bag liner.

IMG_20150509_155030.jpg

IMG_20150509_155058.jpg

IMG_20150515_144932.jpg

Jumper pockets become front bag pockets; add buttons or snaps if you wish. Sleeves inside the bag become sleeves to hold upright things like a water bottle and umbrella. The strap is a thick ribbon type strap that held a rolled up throw blanket I got as a gift at some point. An old leather hair pin thingy became the strap pad.

IMG_20180205_124337.jpg

And now you know it's my bag, because it's covered in buttons and patches. It's a GIRL SCOUT bag, it had to have patches.

And yes, that's a Starfleet Academy patch, because I'm a nerd.

I made this project some time ago, but I still have the junior girl scout uniform to make another one with. So many projects, so little time...

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Nice and creative way to repurpose something that is sentimental to you. If you treasure it that much why not make something out of it that can last a lot longer? Nice work and thanks for sharing~ 😊

Lovely idea! Good work. & you're right about the time!!

Oh & Starfleet Academy patch? Nice! ❤❤❤

I just had to put it on my brownie bag. 😁 I was raised a Trekkie.

So clever. This immediately reminded me of my sister in her brownie days.

Early Photos - 0018.jpg
Egg blowing day.

You are a man of many talents.

I used to love doing needlepoint, quilting, and cross-stitch. No gender typical activities for me! Although my mother was always kind enough to give me any sewing-related presents before my birthday party, so my buddies wouldn't give me a hard time about it.

You have a wise mom. 😊
I always laugh when people say something like, "no, you like girly things like knitting and sewing, you're too femme to be trans" ...I'm like, obviously, you don't hang out in yarn stores where a lone guy sitting there knitting becomes THE MOST POPULAR PERSON because the girls like a guy who knits. Or aware that historically, knitting was seen as a "male" activity. Or...
Yeah, bah on gender roles.
Side note, when I used to play in the SCA, the guys called making chainmail "man knitting."

Oh man, I was cock of the walk in middle school home economics, let me tell you! (At least with the sewing stuff. Not so much with the cooking.)

I didn't know that knitting was seen as a male activity. Although I imagine it could be quite popular on whaling ships. Gotta keep warm.

I loved the scenes in Tale of Two Cities where Madame DeFarge was quietly knitting away while using the stitches to record the names of aristos for the guillotine. And then I learned that knitting was used in spycraft in both world wars, by men and women.

Powerful stuff, needlework.

Yeah, I think dating back to medieval times it was, it was fishermen who knit when fishing season was over, as I recall. It's been a while since I read about that, though!

Very creative I need to do more other this with my old clothes. I repair holes with old bit of ripped clothes but this is the next level haha 💯🐒

LOL now I'm picturing a Mario World where you bonk a sewing machine to level up your sewing game. 😂

Haha thats a strange image in my head now 💯🐒

I have the same Starfleet academy patch! 😍😍

Trekkies unite! 😸

This is such an awesome idea. I love anything that has to do with upcycling!

Thanks! I love to upcycle, as well.

What a cool idea. I too keep sentimental items. I love how you repurposed it into something practical while still retaining it's original feel.

Best usage of a Girl Scouts uniform ever. Period. OMG you did a fantastic job @phoenixwren! Happy #NeedleworkMonday to you!

I like the idea of giving a new life to an old thing. if the fabric is of good quality then why throw it away ?! well turned out !!!!

Your upcycling was really inspiring @phoenixwren !

Thank you! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 70137.39
ETH 3937.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71