You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Beware of the A-Line skirt: making the Delphine skirt from Tilly Walnes

You did a great job, it looks good. I also have an a-line skirt that had similar issues. It’s that thing where you know the issues with it, but other people don’t, so you think it’s weird bit others think it looks great. It looks great, your adaptations worked! 😊 learning the details of alterations is a fantastic skillset!

Sort:  

Thaaank youuu <3 <3 Although I still find the fit of this skirt a bit strange I wear it constantly. I am so in love with the color and the corduroy... But believe me, my alterations skills need a proper sewing course, as up today most is only trial and error (more error mostly) and I am so impatient and imprecise, not sure sewing is the right hobby for me :-DDD

Sewing is a skill that no one can take away from you.
Here is my attempt to tailor by adding darts. It’s what one gets for doing fancy stitching. Such a mess!
3AF8E299-42A3-403B-96B0-847EC229FC7F.jpeg

It’s worth learning how to make something from scratch so at the very least you know how well a garment off the rack is made. And, you can mend or alter stuff. Especially thrift shop finds!

Not bad on the zipper 🤓
5A42227A-63CA-4BA2-A2F4-7FFF8AF61502.jpeg

Maybe I’ll wear it this week. It’s thin fabric, but will work with a pair of bloomers. ☺️ ABA1D958-104A-4CD3-A588-13F2EF9E3996.jpeg

Thanks for the inspiration @neumannsalva
BTW love the butter color of the corduroy!
🌊🌙

The zipper is perfect! It’s completely hidden, mine is much too visible (I was afraid to sew too close) And the fabric of your skirt is so summery. Did you drafted the pattern yourself? Are you content how it fits (after you inserted the darts - which by the way for my unschooled eye look ok)?

You flatter me ☺️. The darts are ok, it’s the waistband that got messy. I really wanted an invisible zipper, they are tough.
The pattern was a rip-off from the costume shop I worked at years ago. It’s just five angled long cuts and the waistband. The big mistake was the fancy double stitching. It mad it difficult to alter, but it drapes nicely. Still haven’t put it on again yet. 😁
I hope it still fits! Tee hee

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69746.86
ETH 3747.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80