Chair - old is new again

Spent yesterday reupholstering this office chair to make it last another 9 years.

E57A7890-A3C9-4E02-A933-9E1E7CB3145C.jpeg

Before.
Bonded leather doesn’t hold up. I pinned the denim on the reverse side to get a good fit.
2370A393-D54F-447A-A2B7-9814FA3CE782.jpeg

Great fit, took apart chair to attach bottom, added some batting for comfort.
FA150365-702F-4C9C-820E-C12FEDA0DA94.jpeg

Next step, arms.

B9FA805E-A2A6-463D-B8DB-82DFDA071AED.jpeg

Created a little sock for the open end, then using Furoshiki folding techniques I folded the denim outwards and hand stitched in place.

Finished!
2C7306F2-63CC-49CA-9FC2-EB647835A649.jpeg

Sort:  

Awesome job.

Cheers to another 9 years of chair usage.

Hi @oceanmoon! Happy #NeedleworkMonday. Thanks so much for sharing your chair reupholstering project! I have always wanted to try this. What are Furoshiki folding techniques ? Great job!

Oops I accidentally answered your question in @crosheille ‘s reply. Thanks @crystalize let me know if I need to fix it 😖

No worries, @oceanmoon! I read it. Thanks for the information!

I also wanted to know what it was. I was going to check back to see if you replied to @crystalize anyway lol! 😄😉

Wow! Total revamp! Ok so if I knew about this there are alot of things I wouldn't dispose of. I'll google that Furoshiki technique tho. Nice work

Yes! Stop tossing start fixing :)

The local library had a couple of fun books on Furoshiki. One is “Wrapping with Fabric” by Etsuko Yamada

Thanks for enlightening me on it. I'll check it out!

This is so neat that you are bringing upholstery to the surface! Thank you for sharing the process along the way. I really liked that you used denim for this. My mother and I wanted to learn how to do this together but we never got around to it. I know having a skill like this can save you tons of money. Nice work!

Wiki gives a good description of Furoshiki, it’s basically traditional folding used to decorate, wrap gifts with fabric and make temporary bags of different sizes. There is special fabric for it. Thanks @crosheille

That’s so cool! Thank you for explaining what it is!

Wow.. That looks so nice... Bravo👏👏👏 ,that will last for more decades...

The most important thing is that as the original owner, I know the condition of the cushions so I didn’t feel the need to take it totally apart.

Thanks for replying @lynn0919

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59316.00
ETH 2518.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43