You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: #needleworkmonday :: Widening a shrunkened pair of shorts 😁

The shrinking problem is well known to me... sigh... double sigh... And I must admit, that shorts are one of the clothes I never dared to wear. I feel so insecure in them (I have scars from burning on my thigh and more cellulite than skin😆... ok and I forgot the spider veins 😱)
So, back to your impeccable tutorial: wow! Are you a sewing teacher? This is so clear and well made. Just wow. As I do not have shorts, but many jeans and skirts which do not fit, I will now try to persuade you to one day write a tutorial for ill-fitting jeans. Do you have recommendations. I have so many jeans which are too wide at the back. Because of my huuuuugeeeee backside and my thick thighs I always must size up in jeans. But when the legs fit, the waistband does not (and sometimes the instep is much too long... as I am also short). I once tried to make a kind of dart at the backside, but this did not work out. Or do you know a good video for taking in jeans? The videos I have found mostly take in the waistband, but not the part beneath it.
Sorry, I highjacked your short tutorial. Feel free to completely ignore my request. Still love your post 😍

Sort:  

Aaah... I also have the same problems with extra lines everywhere and spider veins and I only wear shorts at home or when there is no one around at the gym or pool :D
I have the same problem too!! Jeans doesn't fit me well, usually the thighs and butt parts are too tight and the waist is too lose. But now, I found that bootleg jeans seems to fit quite ok though the waist is still kinda loose. Ya I do darts too haha. I usually dart at the sides. But after a while, the darts will come loose and it can be quite thick. I have seen videos where people use elastics instead of darts and guess what, I just found this video!
Have you watched 5-minute craft videos before? I love watching them and just realised they have one for jeans haha. In the first hack, they removed the waistband and just sew on wide elastic in replace of the waistband. I think it should work the same for loose jeans too. But I have not seen such nice elastics before though. Need to start looking for them. Seems like a pretty neat method. And at minute 1ish-2, they actually showed the exact method of what I shared here! Hehe.. Oh and the rest of the video has many other cool stuffs we can do with jeans :)
Thank you so much for your compliment 😘😘😘. NOOoooooo I am faaaaaaaaaaar from a sewing teacher. So far, what I share are very simple stuffs. Simple crochets, simple sewing and simple beading :D But I do like teaching and preparing presentation slides. I usually try to imagine what would I like to see if I were to want to learn this or ask myself what questions might be asked. It kinda helps :)
Let me know what do you think of the video and I will take into consideration your suggestion on doing something about ill-fitting jeans. But you know what, I see so many nice videos on Youtube that I feel shy sharing my amateur work sometimes :D And if I find any other nice videos, I will share with you too and you wouldn't even want to (or need to) look at my tutorial if I were to write one later :D

Sorry for answering so late. And noooo, your posts are not amateurish. I love them.
Thank you so much for searching for a video, but sadly the wide elastic hack does not work with my jeans problem. I will perhaps make 'problem' photos one day :-D
Most of the videos only show how to alter the waistband, but my problems area is also more in direction of my bum (no idea how to name this nicely in German it would be "Popo") and the gap between jeans and back is much bigger.
And with using such a big elastic, there is no possibility to use the zipper, I imagine it would not look so flat in reality as shown on the video (more over as I do not look like the woman in the video :-DDD)
And you are right, there may be already videos / tutorials for everything. But not everybody is so nice like you and we can chat about it openly (I would not do this with everyone <3)
So yes, to all your post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 68152.98
ETH 3536.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86