You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Needlework Monday - The needle punch rug hooking

Today I am learning so much... I just read @cryptocariad post about machine Knitting, which I have never done nor seen. Now I see your post about needle punch... again never heard or seen. And your motive is beautiful again, it reminds me of your felted woman’s head. Both look like scenes from a fairy tale.
But I have to admit, although your work is beautiful, it is the yarn that draw my eyes. GIMMMEEEEEE PLEASE! 😍 The colour palette you dyed is perfect. I can imagine so many beautiful knits in these colours. Lovely

Sort:  

Oh, the dying is so easy! Lucy has a series of how to dye on youtube as well...You could easily be dying your own wool...and yarn gets cheaper when you buy natural and white in bulk ;) Aside from the dyes, citric acid is all you need, and water and a heat source...She has a great system set up using mason jars for the dyes, and you can dye in a pot, or even in a microwave. Very easy to do, and the only time it takes space is when the wool is hanging to dry.

With your designs, if you could create your own colour palette as well, I cannot even imagine where you would take it...that, would be stunning!!

I already have dyed yarn... and was addicted :-D Sadly buying unbleached natural yarn is quite expensive here and I cannot do it as often as I wish (I normally purchase the yarn for my knits by auction on ebay... otherwise I could not knit/crochet so much). I dyed the yarn with food colouring and vinegar in the oven, the whole summer we lived therefore in an appartment with a very funny smell 🙈 Here you can see one result:
papagai wolle klein.jpg

Nevertheless your yarn looks so gorgeous that I instantly became greedy 😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 58331.25
ETH 2509.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34