My first crochet project - the hat and some fun

in #needleworkmonday7 years ago (edited)

It is Monday and I write something about crafts – so for me it is really #NeedleworkMonday (thank you @crosheille for starting this initiative)

20171008_092902858_iOS_medium2.jpg

Sadly I am order loving but a little bit messy, not a perfect combination :-D It very often leads to binge cleaning on the weekend and during my session yesterday I sorted through all of our hats and let me tell you there are many. I think we possess so many hats, they actually need an own flat. You may ask: Why does she have so many hats and just one head? And I can answer you: because I learned crochet and knitting with hats.

20171120_113951703_iOS.jpg

Many years ago, my husband (yes my husband) crocheted a cute little pink bag which I so loved, that I wanted to learn crochet. So, he taught me the basics. My first test was a scarf-something which grew wider and wider with every row, because I didn’t understand how to make turning chains properly. I was so dissatisfied, that I watched virtually every video about crochet I could find on youtube and decided afterwards I had to make a hat.
My first project was a beanie I crocheted in the round, completely made of single crochet. For this project it was essential that it grew wider every row – perfect for me :-D

Why is a hat a good first (or maybe second) crochet project?
After you tested your stitches on a little rectangle with a cheap yarn which you are not afraid to throw away, you are ready to start your first ‘real’ project. Instead of producing more little squares, which are in my eyes not so useful I think it is highly motivation to start which a project you actually want to wear: the beanie.

20171120_074909894_iOS.jpg

The next advantage is that you can use thick yarn and a big hook for a beanie, so you can be finished with a hat in 30 min up to 1 hour. In the parameter of a craft I would call this instant gratification. Furthermore, you need just a small amount of yarn, mostly one skein is enough. And there are millions of free patterns online, so you do not have to buy a book or a pattern. The last advantage is, you will learn through a hat easily how to increase stitches, which is essential for later more advanced patterns. Ok… one more… if you need Christmas presents, a handmade hat in a beautiful yarn is in my eyes a perfect gift.
I linked you this video tutorial for a crochet beanie, but there are many more videos if you prefer a different explanation style.

By the way I also learned knitting with a hat…. And I realy like bobbles as you can see

20171120_074832769_iOS.jpg

What was your first crochet or knitting project? What would you recommend?

Sort:  

Really cool. I tried to crochet once and it was good fun, but mine was so tight! I was so tense, it wasn't very relaxing for me. ;) I'm much better at fabrics for quilting. Glad you posted about this!

It is so interesting how different everybody is... I crochet and knit so loosely, I have to extra write it in the pattern, so everybody knows to go up a hook or needle size :-D For me especially in knitting it is really hard to have a tighter tension (but I try) And quilting seems for me to be a higher art. I am so amazed how difficult and elaborate this craft is. I won some time ago a sewing machine and sewing a skirt is (up to date) the most complex I accomplished. And believe me I am totally nervous the whole time, because I imagine destroying the precious fabric .... I followed you and hope to see some more of your quilting projects (love the boots)

Thanks! I'm glad you like the boots! :) Yeah, I know how to quilt, but I don't know how to make clothing or even follow a pattern! To quilt, I just need to be able to sew a straight line most of the time and that's not too terribly difficult. :)

hehe, Too many hats...only one head! I haven't learned to knit yet....but my first crochet project - when I was 10 years old - was a poncho....a very Large poncho! Not that I was very large, but you know how first projects go.... By the way, I Love that sweater in your first pic! Let me guess....you made it! I really like the different colours and rows of different stitches.

Wow I am jealous!!! You learned to crochet with 10 years - wow. I learned it rather late. As a child I was totally uninterested in everything crafty (sadly, because my mother was a great knitter and seamstress) And a poncho is an ambitious first project :-D
Thank you for the praise and yes, it’s my first knitted sweater. I finished it this summer, but it was a huge act…I am not so good in reading knitting patterns and I made it much too long. So, I watched some videos and cut the cuff of and knitted it again (everything with a heartrate of 240) I forgot if you have a ravelry account, if yes you can find the pattern here:
https://www.ravelry.com/projects/Sommerfell/stripy-shorty
It is not so complicated, because the sweater is made from 4 rectangles. The patterns are only purl and knit stitches… but it is not crochet (means: I needed ages to finish and it was not so relaxing)

great job it is cold here time to get out the needles. fun stuff thanks for posting :)

Happy you like it! And yes it's starting to get cold here too. The photo is a month ago it was wet but not really cold. Today it's more like winter outside. What are you currently knitting (needles - I assumed knitting)
I send you sunny greetings

I think it is totally awesome that your husband taught you how to crochet...how cool is that?!!! I also think a hat is a very good first project...lots of practice doing those rounds. My first project was a baby blanket for a friend. It was so simple, all sc straight across. I got a lot of practice in with that stitch lol! I love all of your hats, a color for every outfit ;)

I am not sure, if he regrets the teaching a little bit because of all the wool which now lives in our flat :-D And a blanket is big project... I never made one, I am too impatient, but there are so many beautiful patterns for blankets (sigh) Making a gift as a first bigger project is really nice, I think this keeps the attention up and it so nice to see another person glad about a handmade gift. Did you made more blankets (photos please :-D)?

I can imagine all of the wool now lol!!! Yes it took me a long time to finish that blanket. I figured since it takes awhile to complete one it would be good practice for me. Yes I love handmade gifts, they are so sentimental and special! Yes I have made a few...I’ll have to look into the archives to pull out some pics!! 😃

I like these hats with pompons ☺ frankly I do not remember that I knitted with knitting needles first. but I remember that knitted exactly with knitting needles

I like this hats too... but it was hard for me to change from crochet to knitting. For me crochet seems to be much easier ... Do you also crochet?

Yes! but I learned this much later. I like both, I like to combine both knitting needles and crocheting in one project

Wow I never got this... I would really like a crochet (lace) cardigan or sweater with a knitted cuff, but somehow I always end with strange result (cuff to wide or to small). are you on ravlery, do you have project photos? I am really interested!

no, unfortunately I do not have project photos. only those photos that I put in previous posts

no problem, if I have a quiet minute I will go through you post :-)

Wow! awesome projects. Love to do crochet also but finding time is a hard part:)

Yes you are right, the day needs more hours (or I more arms...) I mostly crochet while sitting in a train or if possible in the evening while watching a serial. I try to send you some time :-D
Which was your first project - do you remember?

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @neumannsalva to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Thank you <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58659.71
ETH 3164.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43