Miette Addiction – ahem update

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago (edited)

Last week I asked for your advice regarding my grey Miette cardigan from Andi Satterlund (1). And you lovingly helped me with your button- and sleeve-wisdom. So, I wanted to let you know, I (mostly) followed your hints. Today I present you my finished Miette cardigan.

miette addiction title 1.png


I started with the neckline update: I worked two rows of single crochet around the neckline. The first row consisted of 2sc, 2sctog and the next row was 9sc, 2sctog. In m opinion this helped to strengthen the neckline and to close the very wide opening. I am happy I did this.

old neckline.png


On to the next problem: the buttons. Most of you favoured the metal buttons or the black ones. I used the black ones, because the silver buttons were so heavy that the whole button-band crumpled.
And with the sleeves… ahem… yes sleeves…. They are still long. I could not bring myself to unpick the seam and to unravel the cuffs. Currently I have a non-disclosure agreement with my sleeves. They promise to stay mostly away from my fingertips and I will let them live (translation: I am lazy :-D). But please do not mention it aloud, totally secret :-DDD
Also, I asked you about my problem, that I often do not like myself in my handmade wardrobe. And with amazement I read that many of us feel the same… so I am thinking about an outfit/accessories challenge sometimes after the upcycling challenge of @needleworkmonday, where we present our handmade outfits on person or (if you do not want yourself on the photo) arranged with matching items on the floor or so, to earn a bit of love and praise :-DDD Let me know if you are interested….

Miette addiction.png


As you already know I am my own willing model. And as I really want to get wear out of my Miette, I took the cardigan to the fabric market and into a shop, were I decided that the jacket is cute, and I am ok with it. The next day I combined the cardigan with a long dress as the designer of this cardigan Andi Satterlund looks amazing in her dress/cardigan outfits. (Ok, I am obviously not her, but I think the dress and cardigan combo is nice)

Now I like this Miette so much, that I am pondering to make another one :-DDD I have more of this cheap tweed yarn and thought the pink or the red one would be perfect for the long dress I wore yesterday. Sadly, the dark red tweed yarn is discontinued, and I only have 250 g. My grey Miette weights with buttons 450 g….. Oh noooooo. I do not think Miette would look good in two colors. Or if I simply make the new sweater very short… if 250 g will be enough? Should I make Miette or its update the Crumb cardigan (see below)? Again, I end with questions and in need of advice…

miette addiction 2.png


Thank you @crosheille and @crystalize for hosting the #needleworkmonday. If you want to see more beautiful projects with yarn, fabric and most of all needles, follow @needleworkmonday. Or even better grab your needles and pen keyboard and join the #needleworkmonday community.

(1) If you want to make Miette (a raglan cardigan with lace details) yourself, then hurry up. The designer will take the free pattern down in December. She has made a new variation of this cardigan with more sizes and in a different knitting method and this new cardigan will replace Miette. It is called Crumb and you currently get the pattern for free, if you subscribe to her newsletter.

needleworkmonday.png

Want to see more_Follow me neumannsalvaor visithttp___neumannsalva.de_(1).png

Sort:  

I love the cardigan! The crochet made the neckline just right and it goes well with the dress. And the color is lovely - grey is so underestimated :)

Thank you!! Grey is great :-D I really love grey shades and I am currently planning a sweater in grey with soft pink /nude accents... but ok, I am planning so many thinks, I perhaps need two more arms.

Yay! You did it and the cardigan looks beautiful and it fits just nicely on you!! Love the transformed neckline. Congrats!!
On to your questions - make another Miette because you like it so much and also because I am biased towards loose fitting and longer cardigans. The Crumb looks a bit tight and short but I do like its 3/4 sleeves. Maybe you can make the body and all with one main colour and the neckline and sleeves cuffs and edges with the other? And maybe change sleeves to 3/4? Then you can have a Miette-Crumb :D. Thanks for letting us know about Miette. Gonna go download it soon :) Happy NeedleworkMonday @neumannsalva!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank youuuuuu 💗💗💗 Because I often make photos of myself, it looks perhaps as I am ok with my body/appearance and my outfits, but no... But I do it nevertheless. So, it is especially nice to get such lovely feedback.
And with miette/crumb. They are both very narrow originally as all of Andi Satterlunds designs are made with negative ease. I just do not like such tight things, so I made Miette bigger and less tailored. But you are right, I think it is harder to change the fit of Crumb than the fit of Miette.
The cuff/buttonband solution is also buzzing around my head, but I am unsure if the 250 g will nevertheless be not enough. I will sleep over it.

Girl with ''golden hands'' :) Love combination with jeans, something I would wear for sure @neumannsalva!

Uiiiiii blushing!!! THank you so much for the compliment <3 And this jeans/cardigan combo would suit you surely. Perhaps you will knit a Miette cardigan in the future? I think with your amazing eye for colour combination, handmade clothes from you will be wonderful.

O my dear, I decided long time ago to quit knitting and sewing. It was taking a lot time from my paintings unfortunately. But must admit, I made several pullovers and sewed many trousers, dresses and even one coat :) It runs in my family. Lucky for me my aunt is knitting so when I have some idea she makes it for me.
And you have that same nerve for this great craft @neumannsalva. It looks to me like you found yourself in it a lot!

Yes with the time, I can imagine this. And your paintings are so beautiful, less time would be sad. And with the sewing! Wow I am amazed that you made a coat, I am far away from such difficult things. I am now learning to make a dress :-D

’’Handmade is Better!” What a true and lovely statement!! I LOVE the changes you made and the final presentation of this cardigan! The neckline does look stronger and well put together and I love that you used the black buttons. To be honest I love my sleeves hanging a little long so it looks totally cute to me! You are adorable and look fabulous in your handmade cardigan!!

I love your contest idea!!! Let me know if you want it written up by @needleworkmonday (you will get the credits) or you can do it on your own as well and @needleworkmonday and I will resteem to spread the word!! Hmmmm I wonder how long you will give us? It will definitely take me longer than a week lol!!

Thanks for sharing your finished cardigan with us! It’s lovely~ 💗

I saw this beautiful brown sweater in a shop and went into the changing room to try it out... and then noticed how nice my own cardigan looked in the mirror and that I perhaps would buy a similar garment. So the photo with the comment came into life :-DDD I did not buy the sweater, instead dream of casting on a wrap jacket :-D But first I am making some knitted ear-warmer/headbands as gifts.
And thank you so much for the compliments <3

And with the clothes challenge... it was just an idea, I do not know if it is a good one. I thought of something like this:
minimum three items in the outfit and minimum one handmade (all handmade is possible hats, socks, jackets, shoes, jewellery, bags, skirts.... )
a little (or big) description how the outfit came into being and if it is loved or generally ones feeling towards the handmade items, which pattern and equipment was used etc…
In Germany there is since 2012 an initiative the memademittwoch (me made Wednesday) Here everyone can present their handmade items and show how pattern work on 'normal' (means not photoshopped) body’s. Another aim was to bring people to wear their handmade outfits, be proud of them and their body.
For the steemit challenge I would stretch the rules, meaning if someone do not want to showcase their creations on person, it is ok to lay them down and take a photo...
What do you think? Would you put something like this on @needleworkmonday?

Upvoted.

DISCLAIMER: Your post is upvoted based on curation algorithm configured to find good articles e.g. stories, arts, photography, health, community, etc. This is to reward you (authors) for sharing good content using the Steem platform especially newbies.

If you're a dolphin or whales, and wish not to be included in future selection, please let me know so I can exclude your account. And if you find the upvoted post is inappropriate, FLAG if you must. This will help a better selection of post.

Keep steeming good content.
@Shares - Curation Service

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

Thank you for upvoting my post and for your curation work <3

The neckline turned out nice! Definitely another miette will need to be done at some point. Too bad there isn't enough red.

Thank youuuu... And with the red Miette I pondered to make shorter sleeves and a very short body. But this tiny Miette will only fit to a dress and nothing else (as I do not like to show my midriff :-D)
And nice to hear from you, I hope you are not eaten by work (not sure if this phrase workes in English)?

Eaten by work is a good description! I should be caught up again around mid October...
Maybe make a mini sweater for a demo piece and gift it to someone?

I still cannot accept that I have not enough red wool.... :-D I wish you a bit less stress and happy fall.

Whoa ... combining crocheting & knitting is amazing. The neckline becomes straight and stable! This post make me wake up my hibernating Miette :)

Also, I asked you about my problem, that I often do not like myself in my handmade wardrobe. And with amazement I read that many of us feel the same…

I agree with you. I have this feeling too. This summer it was better and some clothes I wore a lot were those I made by myself. As a challenge I'm happy to investigate or explore why I feel so and find out how can I get rid of this feeling.

Yes, Miette with a second life... Zombie Miette :-))) I am curious to see your version. When I see your beautiful handmade clothes I cannot imagine, that you may have similar feelings about them as I, but it seems to be so common regardless of one’s skills and appearance. I so appreciate, that you are interested to investigate.
And I already wrote @crosheille about the handmade outfit challenge. I am excited, if it really would start.

You got voted by @curationkiwi thanks to Simone (neumannsalva)! This bot is managed by @KiwiBot and run by @rishi556, you can check both of them out there. To receive maximum rewards, you must be a member of @KiwiBot. To receive free upvotes for yourself (even if you are not a member) you can join the KiwiBot Discord linked here and use the command !upvote (post name) in #curationkiwi.

It looks lovely, @neumannsalva ! Thank you as well for the link to the Crumb pattern... It looks a bit hard for me :D - but I have found a free top down crochet cardigan pattern called Imogen on the berroco.com site that I would like to try soon ... I'd prefer to use free patterns until I am more confident reading and following instructions

I found Miette pattern is not available any more next year.
https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/miette

If you want to try the free pattern, download it now ladies :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58990.94
ETH 2670.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44