Upcycle project : plastic caps into bag

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago (edited)

I had an urgent need of bag, to go wedding reception with! And together with the encouragements I have received , I cooked up another upcycle project!

_20180821_110407.JPG

The saddest thing around my neighborhood is that one step out of my appartment gate, you will see litters, scattered along the road 24/7. And the quantity is not possible to put under a persons hand, so this issue should be brought to the whole community.
It's sad, but I walked around one morning, and one morning was sure enough, to collect the caps for plastic bottles.

DSC_3951.JPG
Even this plastic bag I picked up as well😅.
I washed them all first.

DSC_3952.JPG
Then for an evening bag, I chose shiny, glitterly and tough fabric to give a metalic impression. I chose gold curtain.

It's very interesting to see some materials, the wrong side is more interesting than the other. I chose the worng side for this, you could see the linear textures. Love them.

Cut them into squares. The lenth should be ....depends on your cap size, so let's just say line up 3caps and that should be enough for the lenghth and width😅

DSC_3953.JPG
Do a big stich, using tough thread. I used jeans thread.

DSC_3955.JPG
Pull the threads, but not tight and no balls yet!

DSC_3958.JPG
Push in all that ruffles in. Use your figers!

DSC_3959.JPG
Then you pull the thread tight. It would't be tight enough so I suggest you do big stich around the closing again to make it look crisp and sharp!

DSC_3962.JPG
Make many! And while you do this, put in your mide the size of your bag to be.

DSC_3965.JPG
Sew them together in a row. And think of the corner like the baby toy blocks. Bump and dent.
Or like a chemistry chemical compounds😅

_20180821_121418.JPG
So that is the front piece, and 2 side pieces.

_20180821_121446.JPG
Sewn together the pieces. Now, the back side and the bottom,I have other plans. Simply not enought time because I wanted to use this bag tonight. So its nice if you could opt to make all sides with caps.

_20180821_121937.JPG
So I had this plastic juice bottle as a material. Very lucky it was juuust the right size.😂 Next time, I will definitely measure first.

_20180821_122010.JPG
Cut them out so it would be the bottom and the back side. 1 was not enough so I cut out from more.

_20180821_122037.JPG
I covered with textile so now ready to be joined!

_20180821_122142.JPG
Attached. I had to do modification on few caps because they were sticking out and looked awkward .

_20180821_122216.JPG
So how does it close? There are many ways and easiest is nothing😂. My husband told me that is no no, so ....just came to my mind to make thisk kind of lid.

I cut the corner, sewed the fabric and it was done!
Then the strap.... I had metal strap from different unmatching bag. Nice!

_20180821_110141.JPG
The lid can either go in or out of the bag!

The works and images posted here are done by me @naomipangolin.
Some photos also from source

Sort:  

Wow!!! The bag is so beautiful and elegant!!! Never thought of making such a beautiful bag with plastic bottle caps!!! Super creative!!!

Thank you @elizacheng😊😊😊 It was worth all the mess I made to get your appreciation 😍😍😍, thanks again!

Lovely tutorial like post.

I really like the bag but the amount of plastic you found is disturbing!

I know, very sad that the awareness to recycle is almost down to zero, plus, the company or organization to do the recycling process is very limited. I believe China was buying the plastic wastes but they no longer doing it. We are on the way to smoky mountain😕

Your post has been manually curated by elizacheng 💖

This post has been curated by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Smiling wide with your creativity!
What a wonderful way to reuse the discarded items from your environment. Big thumbs up! I hope you enjoyed the wedding.

Thank you @borrowedearth! Yes, thanks had a great time❤️

What an ingenious way to use up the waste around you by making something beautiful!
I can't quite believe that you created such a beautiful bag so quickly and then went out with it on the same night!
It's really so rewarding when we can wear our creations :)
Well done, looking forward to your new projects!

Thank you @vliet! Very encouraging! I was busy with my sewing machine to work again, now its done, so hope to try more upcycling. Cheers!

Nice bag @naomipangolin :) It feels good to be able to repurpose items that would have ended up in the wasteland :) How long did it take for you to complete the bag? It looks like it has a lot of parts to sew.

Thank you @marblely! Yes, took a bit of time. Maybe about 3 to 4 days, I just finished it in the morning of the wedding😂

This is an amazing way to upcycle! You did a fantastic job!! How do you think of these things?!! 😄 You are true needlework inventor! The bag looks great and it’s so original. Job well done!

Thanks so much for sharing!

Thank you so much @needleworkmonday!! My pleasure❤️ It become a bit heavy, but yes, it was worth a try😉 I'm soooo glad you like it😘

Thank you @sweettais😳 thinking what to make next now....🤔

How inventive - that's an interesting bag!

Thank you @muscara😘 as long as there is an appreciation just like you have gave me, and my satisfaction, I will be making ...something😁

Another brilliant upcycle project of yours @naomipangolin. Very impressive.

Thank you @viverridae😘 haha, it's almost free investment😜

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63548.34
ETH 2646.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74