Featuring: my little pupil, and patchwork placemats :)

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago (edited)

Happy #needleworkmonday everyone!! Am I odd for being especially excited for Monday to roll around, just so I can check out everyone's projects? :)

5727C542-2C97-4482-80E8-311C22845C33.jpeg
Start 'em young!

I had a little pupil begin trying out the sewing machine for the first time this week! Pixie was keeping me company while I sewed binding to placemats, and I was allowing her to cut scrap fabric with my Big Girl scissors. I'd draw lines randomly across the fabric, and then she'd cut it up along the lines. (If I neglected to give her a fresh piece, she'd then cut the scraps to tiny bits like she's doing here haha).

DE0F9BB0-4019-4E25-AFF6-06724670E539.jpeg

After cutting fabric awhile, she asked, "Mommy can I please sew on your sewing machine?" Well, I've been actively practicing the principle of saying "yes" whenever my kids ask to do something that's going to teach them skills or life lessons or plain old chores--even if slowing down to teach them inconveniences me at the time--so how could I say no to this opportunity of teaching a kid who wanted to learn? :) A bolt of fleece solved the problem of her being too short to reach the foot pedal, and with a piece of scrap fabric and periodic reminders to keep her fingers away from the needle, she was in business!

64926227-CB2C-41D5-8614-71B37E97F38F.jpeg

Meanwhile, I was in the business of binding a set of 8 placemats, requested by a friend, that I began last month. I had the tops pieced and quilted to the fleece and backing before setting them aside to get a baby quilt done. Now I'm putting dark blue printed binding on them.

D23ECB4E-B057-47B6-B01F-CBF045CAFDF5.jpeg
Doing double lapped binding

980F7991-04AA-4285-986B-F5D08A7B4D81.jpeg
Here you can see the reverse sides, one piece of a floral print fabric. Two placemats in one!

14683472-3441-4E95-901B-66FF51381B92.jpeg
A completed placemat!

I have 3 done, and the other 5 nearly done. I'm hoping to finish them today.

In other news, Steemit and particularly #needleworkmonday has inspired me to break out my crochet hook, which I haven't touched in many years! I'm going to start crocheting an egg apron during times like this, where I dropped the Husband off at an appt, the kids at school, and now I'm stuck in town waiting around for everyone. Looking at all the crochet and knitting projects here reminded me that a crochet project can travel around with me to be worked on anywhere! :)

09B5F241-69E1-4417-8B0A-9817055B0796.jpeg
Hanging out at the local coffee shop

I'm off to start crocheting :) Hope everyone is having a good Monday morning so far!

Sort:  

I can't even see a button on! BUT WOW! What a gift you are giving your daughter! Good job momma!

Thank you! It makes me so happy that she wants to learn like that. I was the same way with my own mom :)

Nice placemats! Those are great colors. And your daughter is adorable. So fun to have such a helper!
Enjoy your mobile project, so nice to have something useful to make while on the go!

Thanks so much! Crocheting for me is like riding a bike, after a couple slightly clumsy minutes my fingers clicked right back into knowing how to do it!

ow she is so cute. And that piece of placemat is beaautiful. Great work. Congrats to that beautiful young lady 😊

Aw thank you, I know I'm partial but I agree she's a cutie!

Love the placemats!! I wish I was more crafty but I'm more suited to animal work or cooking stuff. Your daughter is gorgeous and it looks like she will pick up sewing pretty quick!

Thank you! She has a really determined, focused personality and seems to have set her mind on doing all the things I do :) She informed me today that she would sew the placemats for me now....

Awww so cute - maybe she could make her own one for the dinner table - I bet she'd love that!

How cool is that!! I have fond memories of going to Hancock Fabrics with my Mama every other Saturday just to look around and maybe get a pattern and fabric. She even bought a pattern for me and my Cabbage Patch kid, and I used the scraps from that project to sew clothes for my Barbie dolls. 💜
Great job, mom!!!

Hancock Fabric was such a great store--I remember going there too. Did you have a matching outfit with your doll then? I bet that was cute!!

Congratulations @mtnmeadowmomma! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

The placement mats you made are so lovely and your daughter , wow, if she continues on that path soon she'll give you a run for your money. I can't tell you how motivated this page makes me, that's why I make an effort to check it out . Also, we cant wait to see your crochet designs!

Thank you! I know, I was handstitching at her age, so she has a major head start with getting familiar with the machine!

Talented indeed! I love seeing little ones learning to sew at such an early age. You are one patient Momma. I am sure your little one will always remember those moments sewing alongside her Mommy. Precious!

Thank you so much!! I distinctly remember being her age and my mom giving me a little cross stitch hoop and blunt needle so I could cross stitch like her. I'm happy to hand down the skills :)

I still have my first cross stitch piece... a cute bookmark, bookworm. Making memories!

Awwww how sweet is this!!! It’s so good that you are taking time out to let your daughter explore her interests and learning a new skill at her age. I just recently did the same with my daughter! She sewed her first project that I’ll be posting about in a few weeks. It’s really heart warming knowing our daughter’s want to learn such a useful skill! Way to Go Mom!!! 🤩

That placement is so pretty with all of those bright and bold colors!!! You did an excellent job on them!!! 😉 Thanks for sharing with us and I look forward to seeing your crochet work!! Yay!

Thank you @crosheille! I'm really looking forward to seeing your daughter's project! That's awesome that she made something herself :)

Thanks for the compliment on the placemats too! This is the 4th set I've made so there's a niche for bold wild colors. And once I got to hooking away with my crochet project today--oh my, I'd forgotten how addictive and soothing it is! I seriously didn't want to stop!!

Those patchwork placemats are such a cute idea! How wonderful that she is interested in sewing at such a young age! I took my first sewing lessons the summer I was 9 years old. I learned to cut out a pattern, put a zipper in, sew buttonholes, set in sleeves, everything! I loved it and sewed a lot through my teens and 20's.

Thank you! Wow, that's amazing to do all that at 9! Was it at a summer camp, or somebody giving lessons? I didn't tackle some of those things till senior year home ec!

@mtnmeadowmomma, I took lessons along with my older sister at a place called Singer Sewing Company. They sold sewing machines in their store.They had a room over their store where a lady taught sewing lessons. It was a lot of fun to take the lessons along with my sister. Have you heard of Singer?

Oh yes! I learned on my parent's Singer machine! I never knew they gave lessons in their stores, though. What a great idea!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94