Needlework Monday: Christmas in August

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago

Happy #NeedleworkMonday, all!

I have been sitting around my yarn this weekend, trying to decide what to do next since my basket project is complete.

At first, I was going to go back to the tank top that is “wavy” on the sides to get it done correctly. I then looked at a few other works in progress and was considering those so that I can use up the yarn I have. 

But then...I got that book from the library about Crocheted Scoodles...and I think that it would be an excellent time to start my Christmas gifts for family. 

So this weekend, my mama and I went through the book to see which ones would be easy to do and super cute. I found one with Pom-poms for my little sister and one that can be made in a “manlier” shade for her husband. It can definitely be done for this year, if I can go ahead and start finding the colors that will work for them. 

My only problem is that the patterns call for bulky and super bulky yarn (a 5 or a 6), and I don’t have anything heavier than medium weight (4). So I will have to find a way to earn the thicker yarn for them. 

So now you will start seeing Christmas gifts during my #needleworkmonday posts. Hope you enjoy! 

Sort:  

I agree with Shanibeer - holding the yarn double works for most purposes. And it's a great way to use leftovers: Use two strands of Color A, if that is nearly used up take one strand color A and one of color B, if there's nothing left of color A make all in B. Or, if you have a lot of one color just change the second strand. That way all colors should go well together. You can mix different materials, too.

This is a WiP of mine, a thick sweater meant to be used instead of a light coat. The dark-grey is a 6ply sock yarn (75% wool, 25% nylon), the other colors are a cotton/nylon mix. They work quite well together and make a lovely fabric.

Oh, I like that @muscara! I will definitely do something like this. 😊

So exciting choosing Christmas presents. Could you use some of your yarn in double thickness, would that work?

That's what I would do too, @mrscwin... In fact, you can also make lovely combinations if you use different colours together ... lots of possibilities :D

Thanks @shanibeer and @cryptocariad! I think that I will use what I have and double the thickness up. Appreciate the idea! 😊

It’s very smart to start your crafty Christmas gifts early so you’ll have plenty of time. I was going to suggest the same as @shanibeer ;)

Yes @needleworkmonday - time is on my side right now. Thanks a bunch - I’ll be doubling up what I have and will let you see what comes from this. 😊

Sounds awesome! 😉

Ooo these would make really nice gifts @mrscwin! Good idea to start early. And yah, I agree, you can use a few yarns together to achieve the thickness desired.

Thanks so much, @marblely! And thanks for the tip - will definitely do that!

now I have a bad conscience :-DDDD For me Christmas was far away, but naturally you are right, it takes time to get everything done and working with a tight deadline is no fun, especially on Christmas.
I love the scoodie idea and I am curious how the projects will look /I love pompoms <3) As everybody else already stated, you could combine two strands of yarn... but I am not sure... maybe you need a good reason to buy some yarn :-D? If not I also think using thinner yarn and modifying the pattern would also be nice, perhaps better, because the scoodie would have more drape.
I am looking forward to your projects.

Thanks so much @neumannsalva! I totally agree - last year I made 6 hats in the month of December and finished about 2 days before. Super stressful for sure!
I actually am planning to make the one with pom-poms because I think it is so cute. I think my husband would rather I use what I have before I go and get more...but it never hurts to ask.... 😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62817.54
ETH 2573.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74