Needlework Monday: Christmas Gift For Boss

in #needleworkmonday7 years ago

It has been an interesting December, to say the least. 

In Alabama, we hardly get snow and ice (remind me to tell you about the time I spent 3 days and 2 nights at the office), and this December, we had a good 5 inches of snow on the ground. That shuts down the entire city because we cannot handle that here. Yes, I am serious. It isn’t a good investment, plus we don’t have enough snow and ice during the winter to even purchase enough machines to take care of the city.

Anyway, I was in charge of purchasing the gift card for my boss this Christmas. Some of the group members had not given their donation to the card, and I was planning to pick up the card over the weekend. 

But, with the snow, no one could do anything.

I decided that I was going to do something extra. We enjoy Shipley’s doughnuts as a group, so I created this “Shipley’s Fund change purse” for any additional money I received after purchasing  the gift card. 

This was done using a half double crochet stitch. I already had a zipper. So I made my foundation chain a couple of stitches bigger than the zipper. Then, I did half double crochets until I made a rectangle. Before I formed the purse, I did the lettering. As you can see, it was not as straight as I liked. Something else for me to practice, right??

I then folded the rectangle over, sewed up the two sides, then unzipped the zipper and sewed it into the change purse. (I didn’t do a good job of sewing because I had to sew it over at least 3 times.)

The photo is the finished project.

My boss was pleased and is using it now to “save up for doughnuts”. 😊


Sort:  

How fun :) I'm sure your boss appreciated the hand touch. I know I love thoughtful handmade gifts.

Thanks so much! It was a cool reaction!

Too funny, @mrscwin! I'll bet everyone in the office just loves the Donut Fund Coin purse. Thanks for sharing your great story. Happy #NeedleworkMonday to you!

They all thought it was cute, and one of the ladies on my team asked for a change purse like this, without the letters (ha ha)! Thanks so much!

Congratulations @mrscwin! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Wow! Thanks so much!!

Thanks so much! 😊

How nice of you to make that extra little gift for the office!! It turned out really cute! I’ve done a few letters before but definitely need more practice to get comfortable with it. Enjoy those donuts!!! Thanks for sharing this with us!! 😊

I appreciate it! My grandma used carbon paper to put designs on fabric before she quilted, but it’s so difficult finding carbon paper at the office stores anymore. We definitely will enjoy the doughnuts! 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63696.24
ETH 2486.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69