NeedleWorkMonday: Happy Valentines Day!

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago

needlework monday-5.jpg

I know I'm far off, but I love Valentines Day and Decorating for it. It seems though that Valentine's Day is the Holiday that creeps up on me and doesn't leave me enough time to make something for it. I have some bought decorations, and even some embellished (embroidery) but no crochet Valentines Decorations bless my home.

The crochet projects I have made for valentines day usually get given away (like the year I crochet hearts for my kids whole second grade class. OOOOOh, I get to throw a home school valentines day party this year!!!)

A few weeks ago I saw this yarn at the Re-Crafting Company and decided that this year I was going to be prepared for next years valentines day.

IMG_0225.jpeg

The yarn is a pretty color, but i've had to remove some knots and some of the lint seems to pile up. Still, its cotton, and feels super absorbent.

Im starting with a dish-drying mat, then I plan on making some crochet kitchen towels, and then depending on how much yarn I have left, some kitchen cloths, or maybe a mug rug or two. Im using a 4.5 hook and Im using my own made of pattern of one row single crochet and the next row double crochet. This makes it work up fast, but doesn't let the material be as flimsy and loose as only double crochets.

IMG_0232.jpeg

I love the beauty of a BIG ball of yarn. So many possibilities. I wonder how many flowers, hearts and fairy dresses i'll make from here.

Next year for Valentines Day, I will be ready!

Happy Valentines Day, much love to the needleworkmonday artists.

Thanks for visiting me today, I appreciate you!

20180516_002249_0001.png

Sort:  

In fact the yarn would be beautiful for clothes , hope I can get one too by next year Valentine?

Hahha. Maybe. I can have my kids send a flat package to your siblings. That might be fun for the kids.

😂 😂 😂

Yeees!!! Perfect crochet stitch pattern, I also love the dc/sc combination. I used it for the jacket I posted yesterday. The same reasons you mentioned. It has drape and is not too holey.
In Germany Valentines day is not really celebrated. I know more of it through films and series. But because I love pink (your yarn is super cute) I should establish this in our family ...:-D

Valentines Day is awesome! Some people say that it’s a “Hallmark Holiday” designed to make men shop for women, buy in my experience, it’s a friendship holiday. I ❤️ It.

I love this yarn. I always say that sort of thing for Xmas, St Valentine's, Mother's Day, etc etc.. and then the dates just come and go and I deflate...

  • I can, I know I can... I must be more like @metzli 😊

Hahha. I felt really accomplished even just buying the yarn early. Now I’ve finished my first project!

Thanks for stopping by :)

Whooo Hooo!! Way to go on planning ahead lady!! I love that you are preparing now for a holiday you really enjoy. I agree that they just creep up on us and before ya know it it’s too late to “make” anything. I like the colors of pink in the yarn. I’m curious to see how many things you will be able to make from one ball!! 😃

Me too! Hopefully at least a dish drying mat, a couple of towels and a rag or two.

That would be nice!

Give your magic wisdom to me Give your magic wisdom to me Give your magic wisdom to me Give your magic wisdom to me Give your magic wisdom to me.
I was trying to hypnotize you! Did I manage?

A little. Hahaha.

Great plan to get ahead of the holiday! Very fun yarn, I like how the colors turn out.

Thank you! I’m very happy you visited me ❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62983.95
ETH 2962.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58