You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Needlework Monday - Our Little Big Adventure in Kansas! Part 1

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago

I used to have a loom like one of these - I still have my first tabletop loom, but decided to sell the multi-treadle loom since it takes up so much space and time to use and I don't see myself working on projects like that for a long, long time. It's much easier for me to do knitting and crocheting for the projects and if I want to make runners or placemats we still have the little loom and the warping board to make the warp.

I stay out of yarn store these days because I usually want to just buy the store. It's addicting!!!!!! The colors and textures and potential projects...wow.

Someday. When kids are big. I'll do projects with neat wool and make watercolor quilts. That'll be fun.

Sort:  

So cool! I could see myself getting a tabletop loom before ever investing in a larger machine. Did you enjoy using it when you did? What items did you make?

Lol smart lady you are! It is so addicting being in those stores. When I walk in I feel like kicking off my shoes and grabbing a cup of coffee lol! Watercolor quilts sound pretty fun!

I enjoyed the tabletop loom more than the bigger loom. The big one was a serious job to warp and my back got really tired while working at it. And I was a teenager at the time - I suspect I'd get a lot sorer now. I've made various runners and placemats with it, including one that's currently on my sideboard. I should wash it and take a picture for a Needlework Monday sometime. ;)

Watercolor quilts are seriously fun! You have to collect all kinds of great material first and when it comes to laying it out I can get totally absorbed for hours, to the point where I can't hear anything else that's going on. Which is why I won't make another until the kids are older. Too much potential for catastrophe...

Thank you so much for that review, it was really helpful. My back is definitely not the strongest these days and from what you described I would definitely get tired too. This confirms what I thought, I would buy the table loom first.

Lol that is very smart of you to wait till the kids are older to take up watercolor quilts! I can imagine how you could get totally absorbed in such a project.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59010.30
ETH 2515.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45