Needleworkmonday-dryer balls

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago

I have been busy but managed to finish one of the dryer balls.

20181230_231308.jpg

I am planning on making at least one more, and I have the material to do so.

20181230_231330.jpg

After I test them out, if they work, I might make some more so there are always a couple ready to go into a load of laundry.

Sort:  

I have made them with 100% wool yarn. I wind into balls, tie the balls tightly in an old stocking, and run them through the washer (long, hot cycle) and dryer.

Ooh I had another thought - you're going to have to give it time before they really work. This happened for me, too. Apparently, the disposable dryer sheets leave a residue on your clothes, and so they won't work so well until that has washed out of the clothes. I seem to remember it was several weeks until I had real results, variable by how often the clothes get washed.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, these dryer balls are great for anyone with sensitive skin. Much better than dryer sheet residue. You can also add a drop of essential oil to them periodically. (Be sure to let dry before using)

How do they work?

Copied from an online explanation- Dryer balls reduce drying time by getting in between items in the dryers and helping to separate them as the tumble. This promotes better air circulation within the dryer helping to more quickly evaporate moisture in the towels and draw it away.
We have friends who swear by them!

Looking forward to hearing how they work for you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63365.67
ETH 3398.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44