Studio Tour

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago

Well, the first weekend is over, and I have to say that I didn't do as well as last year so far. There were a lot of weavers who had beautiful towels, scarves, blankets and rugs to sell. I would say that most of them are doing well this year. Here's a small gallery of their work.

IMG_2429.JPG

IMG_2428.JPG

IMG_2435.JPG!

IMG_2433.JPG

So you see, the visitors had lots to choose from!

IMG_2425.JPG

Hand woven waffle weave towels!

IMG_2426.JPG

There were probably over 75 scarves!

Some knitters like me were represented, but I was captivated by this shawl. Is this a brioche design?

IMG_2423.JPG

We have one more weekend, and I expect it to go much the same. I'll dye a few more skeins because people seem to like the highly saturated colors with subtle variations of intensity. Although, I just started a custom order that I hope to share with you here. Felted elf slippers decorated with paisley! I begin as soon as they're dry.

Sort:  

I love to look at other people's weaving, but I'm glad I can purchase fabric instead of weaving it myself! I have great admiration for our ancestors who had to spin and weave everything they used. I'll bet they wasted nothing, ever.

I am so with you... I only once tried to weave with a handmade frame and it was laborious. Doing this in large scale does not make it easier. It was so much work....

I would also like to learn to do the brioche stitch, @kimmac, particularly in two colours :D

I think that scarf is brioche. It's beautiful, isn't it?
I hope next weekend goes well.

I'll have to learn how to do brioche. Thanks @shanibeer!

Ach menno (this translates roughly into 'thats too bad') I am sorry. I love your wool and your knitted items are absolutely special. Although I also like the woven fabrics (especialy the second one in green) I think it is hard to compare knitted with woven fabric.
I cross my fingers that the next week customers are a bit more clever and buy wool and knitted/felted items from. <3

Thanks @neumannsalva! For some reason, I didn't have high expectations this year. When people asked about the upcoming tour, I told them that I didn't really have an emotional investment in doing well. And that really is the truth because I feel fine about it.
I need to shift gears soon and start working on a garment for an upcoming group show. I have no idea what I'll make!

Congratulations @kimmac! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 700 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 800 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I absolutely love weaving, I still have a set of placemats I purchased over 20 years ago and they are still going strong.

Thank you for sharing the photos of the beautiful works.

Yes, I think besides being beautiful, they last so long! I have a handwoven dish towel that still looks new after six years. Glad you enjoyed seeing their work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 68014.74
ETH 3533.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81