#needleworkmonday-Scraps Become a Bag

in #needleworkmonday7 years ago (edited)

Taking advantage of needleworkmonday to show a bag I made out of cotton yarn scraps I gathered from my local thrift store. This was knitted on a machine and seamed by hand.

bag.jpg

bag2.jpg

Each side has a slightly different colorway. The length and drape of the bag makes me feel as if it is a garment.
For those of you that would like to create their own version by sewing, knitting or crocheting, I'll provide the dimensions.

()

The bag is made from four pieces 12 by 9 inches, two pieces 12 by 4 inches and a strap of 32 by 3.75. That strap runs the length of the bag and is a side panel as well as a strap. I have allowed very little seam allowance, so if you're sewing and need a little more, be sure to add that in. I think this bag would translate well into being used for scraps of fabric or leftover clothing.

Sort:  

This is really cool! A great idea to use rest pieces of fabric.

I like the colors and patterns on this bag! It’s really cute! My mother-in-law collects handmade hobo bags when she visits different states. This reminds me of one of the bags she has. Thank you for providing the dimensions for us.

I think it is similar to a hobo bag. Thanks for your comments!

Great bag and pattern @kimmac !
You're very lucky to find such lovely colours at the thrift store :)

I know. I collected them over many trips.

Color- and pattern combination are beautiful. And I really love roomy bags. But sewing is a mystery for me...

It's very pretty...it really looks like fabric vs knit, which is very cool too!

I thought it was fabric also! So pretty!

It is very thin yarn, so it is like fabric. Glad you like it!

Upvoted on behalf of @thehumanbot and it's allies for writing this great original content. Do not use bid bots for at least 1-2 days, as your post may get picked up by top curators.
Great Original Works are rewarded by top Curators.If you like this initiative, you can follow me in SteemAuto and upvote the posts, that I upvote.
And remember to do some charity when you are rich by contributing to me.If you have any concerns or feedback with my way of operation, raise it with @sanmi , my operator who is freaking in Steemit chat or discord most of the time.

what a great idea @kimmac ! thank you for that - I have been looking for something to do with my left-over textiles, this would be great for a shopping bag. :)

You're welcome! I really like the dimensions and hope it will suit you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63878.47
ETH 2625.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79