#NeedleworkMonday - Manadala Rugs

We stay in a rented property with beige walls and beige carpets. Its lovely and light, but a bit boring on the eye, so I wanted to brighten the room up with some crochet!

Ive always liked the idea of mandalas, but I tended to miscount stitches and the pattern wouldnt work. Amigurumi has been great for mastering increases in the round and keeping a good count, so I gave them another shot.

Mandala Bullseye Rug (Cropped).jpg

The 'Bullseye' mandala is really easy - there may be a written pattern somewhere, I just worked with basic increases, so didnt use one. I used 4 main colours, with a slate grey in between each. Ive been using chunky yarn (a mix of Hayfield Bonus and Stylecraft), and for this project used a 6.5mm hook. The main colour rounds are double crochet increases, and the grey between is single crochet increases. Instead of working in spiral, I joined each round with a slip stitch. If you were making this yourself, it could be made as large as required by adding extra increasing rows. I finished mine off with tassels around the edge.

My cats seem to like the new addition, so considering it a winner :)

Mandala Rug.jpg

My other attempt started off life as a rug, but we are a clumsy family and tend to trip over anything given half a chance, so the loops were a danger to life! It has ended up as a 'topper' for a beanbag and does it job helping to brighten up my space :)

I cant remember the pattern I used, but I would encourage searching pinterest or google for excellent mandala patterns!

Tips for mandalas:

  • as every thing else, count stitches! Theres nothing worse than realising 2 or 3 rows through the pattern that you've made an error. Frog or not to frog!
    experiment with colours - mandalas are a very personal expression of feeling and emotions in my opinion, so crochet one that reflects how you feel or the emotion you want to represent. Small ones can be a nice way of testing how colour palettes will work.
  • block in needed - sometimes the edges will curl and the pattern doesnt quite sit right - block if needs be. I didnt bother with mine and just left in place on the floor, both ended up flattening off.

Hope you enjoy the mandalas, and please share your own :)

Sort:  

I saw something similar to this on facebook yesterday, but it was a wheelchair wheel cover. It was pretty cool looking!

im interested on that wheelchair wheel cover

Posted using Partiko Android

Cool colors and designs! Thanks for sharing these!

The rug is beautiful and on the white floor its colors really pop. And with the mandala: I had to laugh... you made a beautiful artistic family-member-trap :-D I can understand them so well. I often walk without putting on the light through our flat and although the mandala is beautiful, i probably would also get entangled in it :-D

Thanks @neumannsalva - lol the entanglement fear is real! Other half would not thank me for Broken bones haha

Oo I like the colour choices @kimbolo86. It certainly will brighten up the room! Mandalas are a great source of zen-ness, whether it is drawing, colouring and now crocheting. Thank you for sharing your tips!

Lovely rugs in great colours - it's interesting how a bit of colour can change an room!

That will brighten up a room, for sure!

nice combination of bright colors surely it will brighten up your room..

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64039.14
ETH 2755.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70