Needlework monday - virus shawl

My full time job is keeping me pretty busy right now - i work in aquaculture and this time of year is prime environment for all sorts of issues - plankton and jellyfish blooms, sea lice and diseases all work faster in warmer temperatures, so im up to my eyeballs at the moment. Truth be told im actually starting to really dislike my position, because there is so much pressure and responsibility, and im not one to cave when the going gets tough.

Crochet is my life line.

When im stressed, i find myself yearning to get lost in a repetative pattern, because i can switch my brain off from work for a few hours. Several times in the last few months i have asked myself whether i could crochet for a living, purely to get out of the soul destroying position i feel im in.

I have been very lucky. As ive mentioned, a local lady has started selling my items in her shop, and so far reception has been excellent. Ive started getting orders in for various things, including the bible blankets i previously posted up. This item is for the same customer (indian priestess) and seemingly she has asked for another to be made, which is fantastic for me. I guess the bigger the customer base i have the better my chances of being able to make some changes in my life. I dont suppose crocheting as a job would be easier - paying bills would probably become an issue - but the idea of doing something i love full time feels right and surely that is what life is about!

Im a bit of an emotional wreck at the moment, and i can truely say that crochet (and my wonderful man @alioops and my two beautiful cats) are keeping me sane.

This virus pattern shawl took a few days to complete, but looks fabulous. I really wasnt sure about the black and white when i started, but it sets of the pattern wonderfully.

The virus pattern tutorial can be found on youtube, and there are videos for ponchos, shawls and blankets which are really easy to follow. I went with a 5mm hook to get a more lacy feel to it.

IMG_20170826_223837784_kindlephoto-422494510.jpg

I took this picture a little early - i crocheted a further set of white rows on the end of this to increase the length slightly, so the edge of the shawl is white.

Really hope you like this and happy crafting folk :)

I think ive posted this pic before but this wee face makes me smile every time - shes 2 now but still cute as a button

11150786_10156018195410527_131179521262128042_n.jpg

Sort:  

I can sense your job takes a lot from you. Working at a job everyday that you do not enjoy will certainly do just that. I'm blessed to be able to stay home with our kids but my husband struggles with that too sometimes.

I am happy to hear that your crocheted items are taking off well at the shop. I could imagine it would be hard paying bills just crocheting but as you said at least your job would be fulfilling and you would enjoy it. You can always find other ways to make ends meet.

I like the black and white. I love the Lacey look of this one! Thanks for sharing as always and what an adorable cutie she is! ❤️

This comment has received a 1.47 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @crosheille.

Okay so I meant to give you a booster tip the first time but some how I ended up entering the tip for my own comment here...I did not mean to do that. But I finally got it right the second time ;)

Thanks so much crosheille - for the tip and for the kind words that you always bring :) crochet brings me so much peace and happiness and now finding other like minded people on here means there even more motivation to create new things and share/discuss/enjoy with the crafting group. I dont suppose that crocheting full time would solve everything, but at !east for now its a welcome relief when real life gets hard.

You are absolutely welcome! I couldn't agree more! I have been inspired so much by what everyone has shared. It is so much Fun getting together like this and I hope many more joins us 😄! Crocheting is such a stress reliever. I'm glad you can get some relief while doing it :)

Sorry to hear you feel sad and that your job is exhausting. I can totally understand your wish to make crochet for a living. But I have to admit I can't imagine how to make this function (for me)? Clothes are so cheap here and yarn so expensive... I think it's easier to write patterns, because you can sell one pattern multiple times. But maybe the market is different in another country. I cross my fingers that you get a chance to make your situation better. Your crochet is beautiful!!!

Thank you so much for your encouraging words. The situation is the same here where the yarn is more expensive than buying a new bit of clothes. But people are starting to be a bit more keen to find a unique item so maybe the tide is turning :)

Congratulations @kimbolo86! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This post has received a 1.68 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @crosheille.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59368.30
ETH 2461.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45