Shawl, Scarf or Infinity Scarf?

I have been working on this item now for a week. Now that I am close to the end, I cannot decide what it will ultimately be. Originally it was going to be just a scarf. Then the thought occurred to me that if I closed the ends off, then it could be an infinity scarf. My house was cool this morning, so I wrapped it around my shoulders and realized that it could also be a shawl.

15E5D777-8B2F-4424-9127-68D495A17792.jpeg

This is a very simple design using two different types of yarn with two different weights. The speckled yarn is a worsted wool, and the rust colored yarn is an acrylic wool blend.

F543C4AE-FACF-4FE2-B366-8D253777C721.jpeg

I have to think about functionality and the versatility of wearing this item. If I use it as a shawl, then I have to think about the colors that may clash with it. If I make it an infinity scarf, then chances are it will be worn with one of my coats and will add a splash of color to either black, brown, green or gray.

8B9164E9-A318-45A5-BFF5-8F21801BA9F7.jpeg

I still have a couple of more days of crocheting left before I have to make my final decision. I will be traveling to a very cold climate this weekend and I plan to take my creation with me. I’ll decide soon.

17E2FEC9-8084-4785-BF28-F2EBE758B3CE.jpeg

A9598E60-1F57-4C40-B828-CFA25B95F605.jpeg

Sort:  

Beautiful! The speckled yarn against that rusted acrylic wool blend is dazzling! I love all of the colors in these yarns...great Fall colors! I agree with everyone and it looks like you have decided on a infinity cowl! I prefer those over traditional scarves now because you can wear them long as a fashion statement or wrap them twice for warmth.

I could see some cute ankle warmers to go with this that you could wear over ankle boots! 😍

Either way it will be beautiful! Nice work and thanks for sharing ~ 😊

Thanks. Ankle warmers would be perfect accessory to match my scarf. I’ll have to see what yarn I can use that I already own. Great idea.

Awesome!!! I hope you have the yarn you need! 😃

First: I love the yarns - the speckles go so well with the monochrome yarn. And the different textures they have make the whatever-it-will-become more interesting.

I'd say infinity scarf - they are more practical. A scarf has to be as long as you're high so that you can wind it nicely around your neck, more than a half of it is simply hanging there. With an infinity scarf or loop you don't have to crochet "useless" parts that are only decoration. You know: form follows funcion ;)

For a shawl I'd like it to be a bit wider .You can see the width on the first picture and to really stay on your shoulders and cervical area and warm them I think it should be at least 50% wider. I started a rectangle shawl and probably will frog it because it's too narrow.

Thank you for your insight. You obviously have a lot of experience which is helpful to me. I can see now that it will be an infinity scarf/cowl. The present measurement is 18 inches wide and about 64 inches long so it should be ok.

I also like the idea of infinity scarves, @jluvs2fly... They just stay put and you don't have to worry that much about them.
If it's too long for a cowl but too narrow for a shawl, you could make an infinity scarf that goes round your neck twice.
I hope you can share photos of your finished work anyway ... I'm curious to see how it works out.

I will share the final piece when it is finished. Thanks for checking it out.

The speckled yarn is so beautiful and your combination of the two different qualities is perfect. But with the decision.... this is hard. For myself I would perhaps make an infinity shawl (I hope I got it right, its like cowl, but bigger?) as I Iike long and thick shawls inside and outside :-D

I am leaning towards an infinity scarf. I had forgotten about a cowl look. I like that idea.

I like crocheting more after seeing your beautiful work. The colors are so rich a great selection.

Me too, I like the infinity scarf...

Posted using Partiko Android

I love the colors. A warm infinity scarf would be nice.

I'm gonna have to say the infinity scarf. I love wearing scarves but I hate how the ends tend to get dirty, worn, and frayed.

Posted using Partiko Android

That is the truth. The long scarves tend to drag the floor sometimes if they are not pinned to my coat.

Pretty color choices, it will look great however you use it!

What a great color combo. I personally love scarves. They just make more sense to me. haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63459.73
ETH 2599.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78