You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Needlework Monday - Our Little Big Adventure in Kansas! Part 1

A thought- don't turn into my Mother! She bought a spinning Wheel, used it for maybe a year. Didn't really enjoy it. And has been trying to sell it on and off for years and years now. Then she bought a loom. It was too big so she bought a second Loom... she used them once each. My dad still trying to sell the large one I think. If you can borrow or rent or test drive in any way shape or form, before you actually invest in these I highly recommend it.
Try drop spinning instead of using a spinning wheel first. See if you even enjoy the process. Before buying either a new spinning wheel or a loom, check and see if you can find one on Craigslist or listed for sale locally on a board at a local yarn shop. Or even ask some of the older ladies who used to do those things if they have spinning wheels are looms they might be interested in selling. I know that one of the weaving groups here in Western Montana has a few older ladies who can't do their weaving anymore and probably are going to be looking to sell their looms soon.

Sort:  

ha ha sound advice there @jamethiel ... totally agreed with the 'try first'... I really liked the idea of spinning too but I was a bit allergic unfortunately...

If you're desperate to try spinning, I hear you can spin flax and cotton with a lot of work!
I used to help my mom with spinning wool, it wasn't as fun as she thought it would be. :)

This is very good and sound advice! I wouldn’t buy a big expensive one unless I know for “sure” I’d be using it on a weekly or monthly basis. My plan is to take a few classes first and then if I enjoy it I would buy a smaller version. Then later on if I’m really feeling it I’d buy the big ones like in this store. It would definitely be a process lol!

Good idea on buying used ones and not brand new ones. I’m sure it’s been a pain for your parents trying to sell her machines. Thanks again for the great advice! 😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59304.77
ETH 2534.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41