Needleworkmonday- String Art Contest Entry

in #needleworkmonday5 years ago (edited)

The String Art contest seemed like a neat way to try something new. I am entering Category 2, individual entry. After thinking about what kind of art I wanted to make, it finally dawned on me that this was an opportunity to use up a specific skein of yarn. I had bought it years ago during a trip to Spokane, WA. The yarn had caught my eye as it looked a lot like my cat, Harlequin.
You see, Ancient Arts Fibres has a Meow Collection that is full of cat colored yarns... And for each skein of yarn purchased they donate to a cat charity!
20190512_201021.jpg

I have always loved cats and we currently have three of them. When we found out that we couldn't have a child of our own we decided that we would be pet parents instead and spoil our friends and family's associated children.

Here is Harley with her yarn-
20190512_201530.jpg

And the template I used from freepik.com-
20190512_201436.jpg

Making a little progress-
20190512_201354.jpg

We worked on the yard for most of Sunday afternoon but after dinner we decided to work on our string art and watch Wreck it Ralph 2. Tiger insisted on helping me and posing inspirationally.
20190512_201057.jpg

And then it was done-
20190512_201038.jpg

And framed in a spare frame we had from another project-
20190512_225425.jpg

Happy Needleworkmonday everyone! We enjoyed making this String Art and look forward to seeing the pieces that everyone else made!

Sort:  

Wonderful entry. I love how the geometric forms come together to build the cat. I especially love how the different shades of brown mimic the fur tones and that the little nose is beige <3 I guess your cats were helpful models :-DDD
And by the way - I super seldom watch films (mostly serials) I near to never go into cinema. The only exception was Wreck it Ralph 2. And i loved it. I did not know the first part, but I found the second wonderful. I am now a proud owner of a little blue cat....

So glad you liked the details, the nose was fun as I had to time the stitches to match the color changes. Little blue cat? I am intrigued!

The kitty cat looks abstractly pretty @jamethiel! I like how you stringed the cat and the tail especially :)

The tail for me too, my favorite part!

Thank you! It was fun deciding how to do the tail.

That's very cool!

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow, cool!👍🏻☺️

Posted using Partiko Android

Okay so I learned something new! Had no idea about this cat yarn collection, so neat! You did such a great job! I love those colors and it definitely looks like Harley. That tail is quite awesome and I love the frame you used! Where are you going to hang it?

Thank you so much for your entry!

The yarn is from Calgary, Canada in case you ever want to check them out-
https://ancientartsfibre.com/collections/meow-yarn-collection

The frame can both stand and hang, currently it is standing on the nightstand in our guest bedroom/ craft room. At some point it will get placed next to another embroidered cat that I have on a book shelf, once I clear some stuff off that shelf.
Great contest, thanks for the inspiration!

Thanks so much for the link! That’s great! You can start you a fun string art collection! 😄

Absolutely!! 😉 I’m glad you’re enjoying it!

That is so beautifuly done, especially with the heart in the middle of the needlework ^^

Thank you! It was fun to work with the negative space idea of the heart.

Aww, I love Harley and her yarn! And Tiger being a model. :D
That's awesome that the yarn donates to cat charities!

Thank you! I picked up 2 skeins when I saw that they donated. The other one is Orange like Tiger and I hope to make something fun with it too. The string art used a lot less yarn than I thought it would, so I still have most of the original ball left.

You could make them cat hats! :D

Lol! Maybe next winter if no better ideas come up!

Matching hooman and cat hats!
You could be like MoShow the Cat Rapper:
https://twitter.com/iammoshow/status/1126907297345597441

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @vibesforlife.

Bello gatito, me gusta su gran parecido con el real

votogif.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63348.66
ETH 2668.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78