Needleworkmonday-Dec 9, 2020 - working on throw blanket

in #needleworkmonday4 years ago (edited)

I've been working on this throw blanket on and off for years now. It started as a project to use up a huge bag of old yarn my Mom gave me, but then it turned out that I didn't have enough yarn to make it as big as I wanted... so I ordered more yarn to use up!

20191208_235218.jpg

The blanket is almost long enough to be used but still needs another 18 inches or so to be good for full winter coverage. I got a lot of the orange yarn for a good price so I am going to have a lot of orange on it.
The cats enjoy helping me with this project as it is very comfortable to lay on while I knit the working end of the blanket.
20191208_235158.jpg

The newest stripe will be knit with one roll of orange and one of purple. Doubling up ther yarn is making for a thick and soft blanket.

Over the weekend we went to a party with a bunch of kids and I ran the crafting to keep them busy. We ended up taking home some half done ornaments from the craft table. So I finished them last night and hung them around the house.
As I told @lordvdr "There, we have decorated for the holidays"
20191208_215115.jpg

No other news lately, knitting has become a great way for me to fall asleep, so I haven't been doing it as much as I was last spring.

Happy #needleworkmonday

Sort:  

Hey @jamethiel! I’m so glad to see you posting needlework this week! 😃

I am really in love with that color scheme, they all blend so well together. I like the texture of it too. What kind of yarn is that?

It is called Felicia, by Ironstone yarns of Uxbridge, MA. It looks and feels like terrycloth. 71% cotton, 29% rayon and it is pretty old. I had to scour Ebay and Etsy to get a enough to make all sorts of stripes and hopefully get this the next 18 inches or so.

That throw looks great, I'm really into stripes 😍
Glad you got your decorating done nice and early 😂

And when I wasn't looking, she hung the ornaments all around the kitchen on the cabinet knobs. :)

:-DDDDDD Clever strategy

So nice to see you 💕💕💕 Right now I am in a meeting and looking secretly at my phone 😆
I will write tomorrow

So here I am with full concentration :-D Your blanket has a lovely color scheme, perfect for fall and winter. And I always like how nice colors blend while held double in knitting. This works much better than in crochet.
And with the sleep. I will tell my friend who has developed a bit of sleep problems. She is testing natural methods to relax in the evening. She also loves to knit, but she seldom does it in the evening... no idea why.

I'm practically Pavlovian now! Pick up knitting, start to fall asleep. Its because I knit on airplanes and fall asleep on them very easily now. The association of knitting to airplanes and sleep is not helping me get anything done, except more sleep!

There is only one solution :
you must crochet
😂😂😂😂😂
(No worries, I remember that crochet is not your favourite craft)
Perhaps you simply need the sleep and then it is good you have a method to get a bit of relaxation.

That certainly would be one easy to stay awake- i would probably get so mad at trying to crochet that i wouldn't be able to sleep!

We should start to market knitting and crochet as sleeping medication or stimulants :-DDDD

Love your blanket - I admire people that can make such big projects. Even a shawl is sometimes too much for me ;)

Great ornaments. My Xmas decoration is still in the box - but at least I already took the box out of the closet! I still have the fall window stickers (falling leaves and mushrooms etc.) on the windows and would have to clean the windows if I changed them... well... perhaps tomorrow...

Have a !BEER

Thank you! The blanket is a good winter project as it keeps me warm while I work on it. I appreciate the beer!



Hey @jamethiel, here is a little bit of BEER from @muscara for you. Enjoy it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98