Needlework Monday- the mittens are Done!

20180506_235527.jpg
The experiment in making flip top mittens is done! They are not pretty and due to a slight miss-calculation the left glove's flip top is 5 rows too short. But they work!
The pattern was a free one called the Podster glove or something like that. The yarn was Moonlight by Buffalo Gold yarn.

While visiting Bozeman, MT this weekend we stopped by the YarnScout store to look around and I found a nice yellow and black chunky yarn that reminds me of Monarch Butterflies. At some point I will post a photo of it. My husband found a felting kit to make a small Orca toy and is looking forward to learning to felt!

Then we went to the other yarn store in Bozeman, Stix. There I found a pattern for a running rib scarf that will look great with the purple Noro yarn I got in New Hampshire. So I frogged the scarf and then re-started it with the new pattern tonight.
20180506_234516.jpg

On the way home we stopped in Butte, MT to visit a friend and picked up some crocheted F-Bombs and a catnip mouse toy I had ordered. She makes these to raise money for their cat's medical bills and I cannot wait to throw some F-Bombs at work this week! 2 are headed to my office, one is for home and one is for throwing at players during gaming conventions.
20180506_203904.jpg
The cats have already been dragging the red mouse around the house, so we think they like it.
During our trip to Bozeman I made the mistake of leaving the door to our room open and my brother-in-laws pup Navare was found to have settled in on my bed. Not a problem and he was adorable...
20180507_001420.jpg
Well, 15 minutes later my husband discovered that Navare had gotten into my purse and eaten most of a bag of mint chocolates we had bought as a treat for us earlier that day... he was not quite as adorable, but his breath was Minty Fresh!

And thus ends thus weeks post! Happy #needleworkmonday

Sort:  

The mitts look so cozy!! Bet it felt great to finish them up. And...that new scarf is going to be beautiful!! BUT...my very favourite that you shared are those F bombs!! What a great idea. I LOL'd so loud my husband came out of his shop.....this is not a common occurrence. LOL! Thanks so much for sharing these. I hope Navare didn't get sick.....LOL

I took two F-Bombs to work and all the Support staff loved them. I think the pattern is on Ravelry, they are so fun! The pup was fine, he must have a cast iron stomach!

Thanks!! I'm going to have to make some of these!

Thank you!

Woohoo, congrats on finishing the mittens. They look great :D The f-bombs are such a creative idea. Can't wait to see the purple scarf :)

hee hee hee you made me laugh :))))) funny dog! but the candy is a pity of course :)))) It's great that you finished your project. if you want to make another pair of gloves, they will turn out even more beautiful because you already have experience :)

Thank you, the experience of making these mittens will definitely be useful in future projects!
We had to pick up more chocolate at the candy store so my husband could have a treat that had nor been nibbled on by the dog. :)

hee hee hee :))))

Flip top mittens are a great idea! My hands stay warmer in mittens than gloves, but inevitably I end up having to pull one off to do something that requires independent finger movement, so these solve that problem!! :) Yours look great to me, nice job!

Thank you! These were a test run, I think the next ones will turn out better now that I have the concept down!

I really like the mittens and that purple yarn is brilliant, @jamethiel.

I learn new things from every one of your posts - thank you ! ... I had never seen those F bombs 😆 😆

Glad you liked them! They are awesome to throw...
Thank you!

Yay great job on finishing your mittens!! I bet you are excited they are completed!! Even with the few minor mistakes I think they turned out just fine. 😊

That is really cool that your husband is giving felting a go! I really love that purple yarn, looks like you have a really nice start to the scarf.

Lol, Navare wanted to get freshened up too!! I’m sure he really enjoyed those mints!! 😂

For me the mittens are perfect. Love the dark yarn and that you can open them up. But I laughed a bit... we have now about 30 degree and I am knitting a big wool sweater and you are making mittens (perhaps your mittens are adequate because you have cooler weather? My sweater is competly off- season)
And the corchet bombs are perfect. What a great idea... hopefully the explosion will not be to intense!

Totally off season now! Glad to move on to the purple scarf and my cross stitch. Thank you!

Nevar and his brother Toby were both so excited to run into the room in the morning after being locked out for the night!

Hi I'm new and I hope that we are getting to know us. Since I'm knitting and crocheting, too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59123.43
ETH 2988.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75