My First Shawl

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago (edited)

first shawl.JPG
I have been wanting a shawl for a long time, and finally I made my first triangle shawl using the yarn that I bought at the Thrift Store! Since the yarns are a collection of mish mash or left over yarn, I was having a bit of frustration trying to find the right pattern and needle size that work together. This particular yarn came in two small balls, with no details of material type. However, I love the color purple in it, so I just went for it.
first shawl 2.JPG
I tried out different stitch pattern and size hook, and finally this one worked out best once I got the piece large enough to feel and and see. Then I ran out of the yarn balls and my shawl was a bit smaller than I would like.
first shawl 1.jpg
Lucky for me, in one of bags of yarns that I purchased, there is another ball of deep purple but the material was not yarn, but it was more like tight ribbon. I went for it any way to make the trim. You see, I figure with the trim, I can extent the size of my shawl! And it did!

#NeedleworkMonday hosted by @crosheille and @crystalize

Text and Photos @IcyBC All Rights Reserved!
Collage 1.jpg

Sort:  

Wow it's coming along Soo nicely! Crocheting is so much fun and relaxing. You're quite the master compared to the blankets I made ^~^

Thank you very much..I am a true rebel, I knit and crochet without following gauge..I can waste time on my own by unraveling my piece, lol...

AWESOME!!! Great first shawl!
And I love the colors you choose. Is it an ombre? My mom used to always use ombre colors when making scarves, slippers and headbands. Universal and a mix of colors matched almost everything.

Thank you! Not sure if it is an ombre..Mixing colors of the same type of yarn is a job in itself, lol. At times, I wonder if I was smart in buying mish mash yarn from the thrift store!

My mom's second bedroom of their townhouse is her crafts emporium. Basically it's a 120-square foot mini Craft Store. Se has so many scraps of yarn.. but she'll use them to make kitchen pot holders or mix-matched slippers for the great-grandchildren. In her mind... it's a sin to get rid of yarn- lol

Ooh..I can get lost in that room for a while! My mom is the same..she can't throw anything way because it is sin :-)

Ooh it is so lovely !! ^_^

Thank you, you're too kind :-)

This is beautiful. I love the colours.

Thank you! It will come in handy in early morning chill :-)

That’s the same pattern I’ve been using for my mats. It was the first pattern I learned and I love it.

Lovely shawl.

Thank you! I also love the look and feel of this stitch pattern once it is worked out with the yarn and needle :-)

Nice stitch!

Thank you!

Beautiful color and needle work! Love it @icybc!

I welcome you to #NeedleWorkMonday!! It’s so good to have you with us @icybc!! We have tons of fun sharing our work along with ideas, tips, patterns and techniques. You will meet so many talented crafters to connect with. I’m so glad you found us :)

You have very lovely stitch work!! I really love the color of this yarn and the deep purple you used for your edging. It turned out very lovely :) Thank you for sharing with us this week! I’m looking forward to seeing more of your work~

Thank you! I go through bursts of changes, but since my grandchild will come in July, and my daughter in law asked for a baby blanket, I have been knitting and crocheting for the baby. It relaxes me, and also helps my brain to learn :-)

Isn’t it so relaxing? I know she will be excited to receive the blanket for the baby :)

That's beautiful! I love the colors! The trim is especially pretty :)

Thank you!

Very pretty, you did a great job. I like the mixing it up, great use of supplies on hand. :)

Thank you so much! I live on a budget, and buying yarn at the Thrift Store becomes an obsession now :-)

I wish we had one around but sadly no such luck :( keep up the great thrifty ideas.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 63977.42
ETH 2760.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65