Sewing Girls Dresses for Eid

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago

PSX_20180416_161605.jpg

The day of Eid is a day of celebration for Muslims. There are two Eids that are celebrated for the Islamic year, Eid al-Fitr and Eid al-Adhaa. Eid al-Fitr comes first and it is the day of celebration after Ramadaan, the month of fasting for Muslims. Eid al-Fitr is about two months away but many people would start shopping around for Eid clothing now already, to avoid the rush during Ramadaan and also so that they can focus on acts of worship rather than running around for this and that.

I've decided to sew a range of girls dresses from 4 years to 9 years, I've sewn girls dresses before but never a whole range. I also need to make the patterns for the dresses and for this I'm using two patterns I bought and a standard measurement chart I found on the internet. Eid will be in the winter and the patterns are for summer dresses, so I needed to modify the patterns with the help of the measurement chart.

PSX_20180416_083246.jpg
My Patterns

Shopping for Fabric

IMG-20180414-01225.jpg
PSX_20180414_211622.jpg
Studio 47

Studio 47 is one of the best places to shop for dress fabric, they have all types of dress fabric in just about any colour you can think of. I managed to find some fabric I was looking for but unfortunately they were sold out of some of their fabric, especially their tulle and organza.

PSX_20180416_094004.jpg
Some of the fabric I bought

I had some offcut fabric from some things I sewed a while ago and after finishing a couple of patterns I managed to get two dresses out of the offcuts. So now I have two sample sizes to check my patterns before cutting the fabric I bought.

Cutting, Sewing and Pressing

PSX_20180416_084216.jpg

PSX_20180416_085228.jpg
Bodice attached to the skirt

PSX_20180416_095526.jpgSewing the neckline

For the neckline I decided to attach a band and then fold it in and sew it down, it's much quicker and easier than sewing facing.

PSX_20180416_101602.jpgAttaching zips

PSX_20180416_102707.jpgPerfect 😊

Almost done...

PSX_20180416_151504.jpg

The finished product... Two dresses made from offcut fabric :-)

PSX_20180416_170755.jpg



All photos are my own


DQmTRR5VcoprEbRW8JyVopMRwbuYVRRYDZA7cHKusoPTtaM.png


DQmTxr8ui764gnE6ThnQ1vcWNN7jf7pzg3cf6NZqmLKKeP8_1680x8400.png
Team South Africa banner created by @bearone

Sort:  

What a wonderful selection of fabric! I wonder how you choose? 😀

Thank you :-) ... I just keep the different styles of dresses in mind and the type of fabric I need and then all that's left to do is to mix and match the colours.

Lovely post. I enjoy learning about how other people live and what is important in their lives.

As a teen, I lived in India for a year, and with a Muslim family half of the time. I was with them for Ramadaan, but don't remember the Eid at the end.
What are these dresses worn for? It reminds me of getting a new hat and gloves when I was a child for Easter Sunday.

Happy NeedleworkMonday

We're encouraged to wear our best clothes on the day of Eid because it's a day of celebration after having fasted the month of Ramadaan... The clothing does not have to be new but children usually get new clothing because they've outgrown their clothing from the previous year...

Thanks for stopping by 😊

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by hoosain from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Wow Studio 47 is huge! Look at all of those selections! Lovely job on the dresses and making them suitable for Winter. I love that pretty pink lace and the fabric with the sparkles in it that you purchased. Thank you for sharing the process of your work with us! 😃

Studio 47 looks like a wonderful place that I could happily get lost in! The dresses you made are very pretty! Love the black floral print!

Wow you are really very talented @hoosain ! I remembered my mom used to sew and made dresses from scratch for me and pyjamas for my dad.

Now she hardly could see and that really breaks my heart, but this brings so much fond memories when I followed her to pick up cloths for sewing.

Salaamaleikum @hoosain, I always enjoy home-made DIY stuff and this is a really nice presentation. I wonder how many dresses you ended up with in the 'range' :D

I was in the Delta region of Egypt in the mid-90s during the month of Ramadan, teaching English in a village. If I was out walking in the evenings around sunset it would always take me forever, as everyone I passed would insist on inviting me to join them for their fast-breaking meal and I would have to politely decline several times before I could move on. I even tried fasting for a couple of days to see what it was like - no cigarettes was the toughest and I really grew to appreciate calm in others when fasting, as I was getting quite irritable myself 🌝

Good luck, I'm sure the dresses will be well appreciated :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67275.57
ETH 3480.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67