You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are Custom Orders Worth It?

I charge more for my custom pendants than I do for the ones I just randomly make. It's only a bit of a difference in price, but I feel like the anxiety and trouble that comes with a custom order is worth that or more. Maybe lay down some ground rules on your customs? Like it has to be with fabric you have on hand and things like that. You're were very accommodating on that order. Way more than I think I would have the patience for in that situation. Good job!

Sort:  

Now I'm glad I made this post and got that suggestion about "fabric you have on hand"! I had thought about amending the listing to say "2-3 weeks lead time" to give myself wiggle room, but making fabric availability part of it is an awesome idea. Thank you!!! I might say I'm willing to look for different fabric but that the customer is responsible to purchase it. Last thing I need is somebody asking for fabric that costs more per yard than what I charge to make something!

I might raise my custom price too. Right now I'm basically recouping the fabric costs and maybe paying myself at minimum wage for an hour of work, but it takes me a lot longer to make them than that, and all the extra communicating and brainstorming with the customer eats up even more time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67024.68
ETH 3312.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74