Needlework Monday. A Pictorial of Well Intended "Things."

in #needleworkmonday5 years ago (edited)

I have a trove of stuff.

PSX_20190129_082224.jpg

I resisted writing Treasure Trove, because it's not treaure.... Yet.

Much like myself, it is waiting impatiently to reveal it's potential. Much like me, it looks like a hot mess right now, but looks are deceiving.

PSX_20190111_082834.jpg

It is a large stash, a hoard perhaps.
A pile of potential, formed from old clothes, off cuts, and other trinkets and broken things that can be upcycled into greatness.

Even this post is a half finished "thing."

These very words, this bit you are reading right now, ....and this bit too an edit, an addit...

I have a limit to the time I can apply myself, and need to get organised to be able to return to a task and do a little more. In the past I would get psyched and fully immersed in a project until it's completion, preferably the very same day.

My life has altered due to the inclusion of my new companions -
• Intractable pain
• Devastating malaise
• Orthostatic intollerance
• Addisonian Insufficiency
• Leaky brain / spinal fluid
• spontaneous joint dislocations
• 10 fingers that seem to have turned into thumbs. Or more accurately cold numb clumsy sausages.
• A bobble head.
True story, a doctor told me I have a bowling ball head and that it is sitting on a golf tee with nothing in the way of functional connective tissue to hold it up...

But I am lucky!

I have a partner, and 2 fabulous children (and our crazy old granny), who have given me every chance to rediscover purpose. We have moved and I am going to change, to improve my life balance, restore some purpose, give them their mum back.

Crafting, creativity and writing is going to pave my way.


For now I just have an enormous mountain of brain farts that were commenced and discarded. But the mountains reeks of potential.
Each one left in a state of deflated defeat. I intend to revisit them, sorting trash from treasure, (which is not always easy to identify, many subjective factors). These bits and pieces have self invested in them. Emotions, experience, mood, memory, it is stitched into them.

PSX_20190111_083324.jpg

There are other projects too. Paintings, drawings, sculpting (constructing), "repurposing" or upcycling, and the occasional down cycling.
Yes I discovered I am capable of down cycling. It is when you take an item that could be reused or recycled and you eff it up so badly it is now rubbish, not fit for any purpose.

IMG_20190205_060814.jpg
Beautiful broken things to be mended, refashioned, repurpose, or just rescued.

I also have an mystical mountainous manifesto of musings.

A big ass pile of paper.
Scratched out ideas, bits or poems, 4am musings and cooking dinner epiphanic winners. Some of which I can not even decipher.


Here is a small sampling of the stitchy variety.

Because this is a stitchy monday post.

Fully visualised.

Initially...

Never quite realised...

And metamorphosed or morphed into...
Ummmm...

Is it cushion cover? Yes... no...
Is it a painting? Yes!... Kinda... no...
Well yes... Half a painting. But... No not really.
Is it a weird half finished tote?. Maybe!!?

I'll let you know when I know.

PSX_20190129_082224.jpg

And an abundance of half finished creations.

My rag rug.

PSX_20180828_084401.jpg

Still pretty much in rag stage of it's upcycle.

PSX_20180927_120345.jpg

But progressed from here.

PSX_20180828_083656.jpg

...And this...

Yes, it's a hideous labour of anguish.

The most ghastly skirt I have ever donned.

Hideous hideous hideous.

I think I'll turn it into a big bolster cushion, maybe.

PSX_20181016_080442.jpg

And this poor cat

I was psyched for this project. For @novaatebatman. Didn't happen.
Love you N8B

PSX_20190204_171837.jpg


PSX_20181023_164757.jpg

But there is hope on the horizon.

Or is that caution on the wind?

A foreboding?

Most definitely a development, concerning development perhaps...

I have acquired my very own creative space.

All my half arse creations are already in it.

PSX_20190111_082712.jpg

Waiting to be liberated.

PSX_20190111_083528.jpg

The black box is there.

PSX_20190204_171517.jpg

"Things" that are finished and I'm almost proud of, but still homeless.

PSX_20190204_171346.jpg
Or maybe useless. Not sure, but it took so long to make it, I think perhaps I've over valued them. But... I hold firm in the belief that something genius resides in me and if I keep at it I will stumble upon it in this clutter eventually.

And yes that is a desk under there, and I'm fixing to use it.

PSX_20190111_083121.jpg

Yes if you look carefully through the treasure, it also features a feathered quill. Another half created gift that never reached it's intended steemian @quillfire...


This is @girlbeforemirror.

Watch this space, I am on the precipice of awesomeness.
Or maybe it's sleeplessness and a psychotic break, but that can be pretty bloody entertaining too.

Either way you don't wanna miss it.

IMG_20180305_111019.jpgU5drvPrxuHgnzoaaRUDExxDA9aMpVgn_1680x8400.jpg

PSX_20190106_195638.jpg

When it comes to stitching I am a bit of a hack, I admit it. But steemit has some very talented stitchy sisters and brothers. Check out the #needlework and needleworkmonday posts.

If you are a stitcher or have stitched in the past, share your creation using the tags.
#NeedleWorkMonday initiated by @crosheille
Helping to host are @muscara, @shanibeer and @marblely. Check them out.

@foxyspirit also runs a crochet contest.
https://steemit.com/ultimatecrochet/@foxyspirit/ultimate-crochet-remind

All images are my own.

PSX_20181023_164757.jpg

The Cspine bubble snake banner.

Fashioned from the contours of yours truly, while I didn't take the original shot I reworked it. I did get radiated for it, so I do believe that makes me a collaborator in the original project.

I call it.

Life Snaked, An Impediment To Uprightedness.
PSX_20181023_164757.jpg
The snake that cannot shed its skin perishes.
Friedrich Nietzsche

Sort:  

First off any post with one of my favorite terms brain farts deserves a !tip :)
Hopefully having your own creative spot will help to make the creativity grow

Thank you!
Hopefully my creativity will grow, that or I just have more space to spread out all my delusional $#¡+.
I am also clueless to all of these cool alternate ways like tip to reward posts.
I just upvote and resteem things that I dig.

Well you are giving your creativity a good chance and you just have to hope for the best :)

Weeeee

You're beating me :(. My creative is coming, i can feel it.

What a development! You get your own crafting and art room. This is so amazing. You can work there undisturbed and you do not need to put every project away. This will be wonderful. And so many projects you already have. You know I love the multidimensional artwork and hope you submit it at @juliakponsford contest.
I am looking forward how your wips will develope... only the rug would be not my choice as I find it hurtful to work with thick yarn and big needles, my hands are not fit/healthy enough to do this strenuous work, but it is a perfect project for old shirts or other fabrics.
Wishing you productive time <3

I so love your realness and the realness throughout this post! You have expressed what many of us crafters have been through before and even going through now. With not enough time in the day, physical challenges, too many ideas or choices, loss of motivation we have all hit somewhere along those lines. But what I love about this post is that it reminds us we are human :)

I’m excited for you and your new creative space...I look forward to having my own some day. With a family of seven that probably won’t happen until the kids start moving out lol.

You know we’ll be here with you watching these hidden “treasures” (they are treasures because you value them now and see their potential) come to life and watching your creativity unfold :)

What a wonderful collection, and a desk as well. I think this may be representative of every needleworker everywhere at some stage or another. With so much joy at your fingertips, pick any piece that appeals to you, when it appeals to you, and enjoy the moment.

Well you definitely have everything that you need to make anything that you want. Have some fun with your things.

hey sweetie. Can't wait to see your creations taking place. <3

Loading...

GET 30 STEEM NOW

join our Site and get 30 steem free on your account
We are giving away first 2000 people 30 steem for join our site so be quick or you will miss the opportunity.
Join now

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68092.03
ETH 3536.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75