You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Needlework Monday - The needle punch rug hooking

"Oh no! No - I don't need another hobby - nope, look away, don't get drawn in by the beauty and the yarn and that fancy fun needle, just turn around and walk away." - Internal monologue over!

It's wonderful @elew. Right now the back looks best to me, but that may be because it gives me a better sense of what the finished piece will look like. I can't wait to see it all done.

Sort:  

Hahahaha, you are funny :D...you know you want to learn too ;) For myself, I think it will be a very good skill to have in the future. When we get deeper into the grand solar minimum, I want warm feet! And it will be a great barter skill.

I think the back looks nicer right now too, for the same reason...it will be fun to watch the front evolve... :)

I must have missed something - what is the grand solar minimum?

The solar cycles, where we go from warm to cool here on earth? We just finished the warm cycle, and are headed into a cooling cycle, which is why the weather has been so turbulent around the globe, and there have been so many cold records broken this winter. It is also why so many volcanoes are waking up.
The way things are lining up with cycles, this new Eddy Minimum we are headed into could be far colder than the previous one where we had the summer that never came. It is also very hard on the crops, as we have seen already...and this is just the beginning. Listen in to @solarshutdown and @iceagefarmer ...they know much more than I do...but it is good stuff to know so we can be prepared.
While everyone was speaking about global warming, it was indeed getting warmer, but they missed the part where that cycle ended and have not explained that we are now shifting into a minimum.

Here I was going to comment on your awesome needle punch but then I read this comment and it's SO COOL! (pun not intended) I've never heard that explanation before. Thank you for taking the time to explain it! Now I learned 2 new things through your post :)

You are very welcome :) It seems like the best kept secret, though the most important for everyone to know!

I had no idea! Well, I knew we were getting colder because I observe nature and pay attention. But this whole cycle thing was news to me. Do they know how long a cycle lasts for?

I hear 30 to 50 years if we are lucky, but it could be much longer. I am not a scientist though...but Diamond is...
Global Cooling 101 - Solar Cycles - Paleoclimatology - Maunder Minimum - Science - Community

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 58510.90
ETH 2522.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36