Knit Version of Sushi Scarf

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago (edited)

Here it is before rolling:

And after rolling:

These could become addictive. Fun gift idea, for sure. Also great carry-along project for days on the go.

I have also begun a scarf in Irish moss stitch that was inspired by a blue scarf I saw Sister Evangelina wear several times on "Call the Midwife." I had several false starts, trying to find a pattern that was close to the texture I could see from the video screen. This stitch is not an exact match, but it has the same spirit--a practical, warm scarf for winter chills, without frills (like Sister Evangelina in the BBC series. ) Here is the progress:

I am also awaiting the arrival of a box of yarn for the new sweater I will soon be knitting my youngest daughter. She selected the pattern and yarn from several suggestions I offered. It will be an oversized "boyfriend" style V-neck pullover. Will let y'all know when the yarn arrives.

Happy NeedleWorkMonday to all! I check periodically for all the great posts each week.

Sort:  

I like the sushi scarf, that's great fun. You never know where you will find inspiration ... I would never have thought of Call the Midwife!

British shows always have wonderful sweaters and such. For example, the Harry Potter movies inspired a lot of knitting, as did the Doctor's scarf from Dr. Who.

That's true - I love some of the knitwear in series like Grantchester and Father Brown.

The sushi scarf looks like a good gag for someone... :) Put it on the table and ask them if they need a wrap before leaving... then pick it up and throw it at them! :) LOL The pattern for the blue scarf looks nice... look forward to seeing the completed product!

Might try your suggestion with the sushi scarf. When my 3 boys were teenagers I used to say they would eat anything that didn't eat them first (and had the grocery bills to prove it.) So they might have eaten it. :)

LOL... great way to have some fun!

you got a wonderful bright scarf! I have not seen that movie, but I like the color of blue yarn for a new scarf

Thank you! I have a dark blue winter coat, so I think the blue scarf will be mine.

Cute cute cute!! I Love that sushi scarf! What Fun!! I also love that blue color and the Irish moss stitch on that second scarf!

The pullover sounds fun too! Please do share some process pictures of it along the way! 😃

Waiting for the yarn is the part of the process I'm in right now.....still waiting....still.....

I loved Knit Version of Sushi Scarf. An original idea. Thank you for sharing

Thanks for commenting. Glad you like it.

I love the pattern on the blue scarf! And the sushi roll is so cute - unique!

Sushi scarf is a good name :) I didn't know initially why it's Sushi but ah ha when I saw the second photo. Great job!

Such a cool scarf (as I loooove maki). The idea to achieve a maki roll with knitting is lovely and as you stated a perfect gift idea.
And waiting for a parcel of yarn is great... a bit like Christmas :-DDD

Yes, I love getting boxes of books and yarn. I'm waiting for both right now.

Great scarves. Maybe I can get the patterns

Posted using Partiko Android

Sushi scarf is just garter stitch with strategic color changes (I rolled as I went along to decide when to switch colors.

Where in the world did u get this idea , its so cute! I bet u could sell these to a few restaurants for their decorations 🍙❤

Not my original idea. I did the crocheted version from the book "Son of Stitch 'n' B---ch" by Debbie Stoller. Then I did the same thing in the same yarn, but knit instead of crocheted.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05