Finishing WellsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago (edited)


This pile of pieces is an unassembled "Margaret Beaufort" sweater from Alice Starmore's book Tudor Roses. I have sewn the pieces together now, picked up the neckline stitches, and am on the 2nd half of the collar. Only the front buttonhole bands will remain after today, I hope.

I will add more pictures today if the sun comes out. Update!! Got this picture of the textured detailing of the hem and cuffs.

An unusual feature of this sweater is that front and back can be reversed. I expect to wear it buttoned in the front, but the back is lovely, too and the book shows it worn both ways. This will be fun to wear when winter hits. Here is the "back" of the sweater:


This is my first Alice Starmore sweater. After I recover from this one, I will try one of her amazing Fair Isle designs.

Sort:  

The texture on the sweater comes out very clear though @fiberfrau. It's looking great !

Hopefully even better after some steam is applied to the finished garment.

What a beautiful work :) I looked up the pattern, what an impressive sweater, I especially like the collar.

I chose to make a smaller collar. Hope Mrs. Starmore won't mind.

This looks like a nice thick sweater for the Winter! You are doing a nice job on it! I too looked up the sweater and it is definitely impressive. I look forward to seeing your finished version!! 😀

Thanks for the encouragement. After 40 years of knitting, I figured it was time to try an Alice Starmore. It does require time without interruptions, so I could not have done it when the kids were little.

You’re very welcome! I’m so glad you could get to to making this! 😊

Looks like an interesting pattern around the waist, up the middle and around the collar. Great job!

The pattern was a fairly simple repeat, so it worked well for me. Some of her sweater designs are quite involved with cables and twisted stitches, so this was my choice.

It looks fabulous... keep up the good work!

wow amazing pattern and work. Alice Starmore has so many complex and wonderful patterns... but I think I have to knit some millions of years longer before I try it out. Your jacket looks wonderful and I am looking forward to your sewing it together :-D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63597.74
ETH 2476.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53