Needlework Monday - Crochet

in #needleworkmonday7 years ago (edited)

When I find lots of yarn on sale, I set them aside and when I have time they become whatever we need. Recently I found worsted cotton which is perfect for wash cloths...and a sweater tunic for our grand daughter.

So this week I have been working on them for an hour or so here and there.

Cotton worsted 1d.jpg

The cloths make good gifts too, with a little basket and some rustic soap...

Cotton worsted 1b.jpg

Here is the tunic sweater...I have a little ways to go on the length, then will add a ruffle and possibly a satin ribbon. She is a very girly baby girl who loves pink and bows :) But in our family it is normal for clothing to match the quilt, or wash cloths in this case...

Cotton worsted 1a.jpg

I guess I don't often post on the simple things I make, things we use every day here...but you may see more of them with #needleworkmonday because my hands are always busy :)

Thanks for reading! I hope you enjoyed...This is a Steemit original, all words, work and photos by Elew...

DQmTfJEWRQpdidQ5rkDTLjnfPBvfLWFcqq1D9BCFongyBZS_1680x8400.png

Homesteaders Online

Sort:  

Awesome stuff made by hand! Looking forward to seeing the finish for the baby!

Thanks Weetree :) The more we make, the less we buy...and handmade is sooo much better. Hopefully I will get her tunic finished before next Monday so she gets it before spring. I will post it though :)

Oh my goodness I just love cotton knit! The sweater you are making is going to be absolutely gorgeous! Question: I was looking at yarn in the fabric store the other day for a gift. How come it seems like everything has acrylic in it? Where do knitters get just pure wool yarn? Thanks!

Me too :) I don't know where everyone goes, but sometimes I find wool here https://www.loveknitting.com/us/knitting-yarns#?fiber_yarns=49433

And there are a few places in New England where I get plain sport wool to dye...just look around online if there is no one near you who spins. In the next year or so I have spinning on my list of things to learn, but not quite there yet.

Hmm, I did not even consider online. That's great advice. Thank you. There is a lady here on #NeedlworkMonday who spins her own yarn and it blows my mind. So cool@

Those wash-cloths look amazing. And when the baby outgrows her dress, it can be used to wash the dishes too!

I thought that soap was a hard cheese. Now I know it's soap, but I'm still hungry.

Hahaha, you crack me up ;) I think it would be a little too big for dish washing...but maybe buffing the car wax.

She will pass it on when it gets too small, the new wearer won't have the matching wash cloths so it will be all good :)

I love those washcloths. Do you have the pattern for them?

They are super basic...so worsted weight yarn, or 15 stitches x 12 rows makes a 4 inch square on a US size H hook (or whatver the equivalent is)

For these I chain 26, turn skip one chain and half double into the next 25...do this for 23 rows.

Around the edge, I single crochet one row around, then step up and double crochet around with granny square corners...and you are done.

I know, not a legit pattern, but I just make them up as I go. This is pretty much how I made these, so I hope that helps you :)

You are very welcome :)

beautiful color combination and dress model! be sure to show us the final result!

Thank you! and I sure will. I had to catch up on metalwork and shop stuff, so no more progress yet. I will shoot for having it finished by Monday though :)

I just love the picture of the cloths and soap in the basket! What a great gift idea! 😃 Great job on those! The sweater is looking so cute already! I think it would be so cute with a satin ribbon. I love how neat your stitches are. Looking forward to seeing the finished sweater. Thanks for sharing with us this week! 😊

Thank you :) Yeah, being in retail and selling on Etsy I tend to expedite for photos ;) they do make super cute gifts though.
I have a few ribbons in blue, and I am thinking just above the gather, with a bow, and maybe in the sleeves as well. If I use the right colour it will have a shabby chic look, or vintage feel. I will have to play with it some.
Hopefully finished by Monday!

Oooooh I love vintage looks!!! I am so excited to see what you decided to do!! Yay for Monday’s!!! 😃🤗

Unfortunately I was not able to get it finished :( I have been working 10-12 hour days all week. I got alot of metalwork made and shop stuff done :) but no needlework.

Shooting for next week!! :)

I totally understand that!!! I’m sure you are exhausted. At least you were able to get other things done off your list!!

No worries, you’ll get it done!! Looking forward!! 😉😃👌🏽

I love this... I would love trying that tunic sweater .. but I struggle with size an fitting unless the person is in person to try it on as I go.. any tips? I would greatly appreciate any !!

Thank you :) ...I would say it's all about the math. Make sure you have accurate measurements (if not using a pattern that lays out the sizes) ...and then Always make a 4" square with the yarn and stitch you will be using. This way you can divide the total measurement by the qty of stitches and rows in your square...and that is how to build a pattern.
Once you know how many stitches and rows, then you will also know how much you need to increase and decrease in areas to shape it. From there you can decide How you will create the desired effect with the increase and decrease...should there be gathers? a smooth transition? and that determines which stitches and techniques for increase, decrease, joining, shaping.

If you always do your square to gauge and get your numbers, and think in pattern making ways while doing the math (with accurate measurements from the person)...then your finished piece should fit perfectly even if you need to modify an existing pattern :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64572.94
ETH 2630.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82