Needle Felting for Needleworkmonday

in #needleworkmonday7 years ago

I made these a while back while learning to needle felt

For this one I was playing with wet felting and needle felting

Dreamer  Felted Bookmark 1b.jpg

Dreamer  Felted Bookmark 1a.jpg

Then some needle felted figures with the Felt Alive tutorials

Fairy yellow 1a.jpg

Wizard 1b.jpg

Wizard 1a.jpg

It was alot of fun :) I ended up making about 6 of the finger puppet fairies, which I gave to the kids to play with.

Like all new crafts, as I get to making them I find out if it is something I love, or just like. Sadly, needle felting and wet felting for me falls into the 'just like' category. I have the skill now, tucked away in my How To mental file...so if the occasion should arise where we Need something felted, I can do it.

There are sooo many things to learn and create, so many materials, and things to make with them. I find I have to pick and choose! I would Love to be able to do everything, and I can see so many cute images in my mind of things I would love to felt...but not very many functional things.

I have learned over the years that I much prefer creating functional art, it sits better with who I am.

So, this will be my first and most likely last needle felting post ;)

However, Nyai is learning and will hopefully add some #needleworkmonday posts as well. He has an amazing imagination, and I cannot wait to see what he creates!!

Thanks for reading :) This is a Steemit original, all photos and words by Elew

DQmTfJEWRQpdidQ5rkDTLjnfPBvfLWFcqq1D9BCFongyBZS_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

Your job is great
For the first time I see this kind of art.
But unimportant enough to be beautiful.
I hope you will continue and master this work more
good luck
you got my upvote

Aww, thank you :) It is a really amazing craft/art. If I could grow more hands I would definitely continue!

There is just not enough time in the day when I could focus on learning the arts/crafts that really inspire me. This year as soon as my supplies all trickle in I will be learning rug hooking...so functional fiber art :)

Such delicacy and detail! This is some of the prettiest felting I have seen.

Oh, thank you :) You are so sweet... <3 I think this medium would take me years to really learn to create what I see in my mind.

Just calling it like I see it ;)

Yep, it seems like so many handicrafts are like a Tardis, bigger on the inside!

Yes...I wish I could do them all though ;)

Me too!!!!!

Wow, the womans face is so delicate and with the blue background it has a romantic feeling for me, like a woman from a fairy tale. I love it!

Thank you...that is exactly what I was going for. Like a winter woman who one might see in a glance...

And after I read your post, I am now very curious which craft you love??? Although felting is not your biggest love (i think the womans portrait is a stunning artwork) I resteemed it... perhaps you will make more ;-D

I would say metalwork is my first love...I have been intrigued since about 4 years old when I found a ball bearing on the sidewalk. I remember rolling it around in my hand, and it was so perfectly round and smooth, and so heavy...it fascinated me. Then watching my grandfather take a hammer and straighten an old nail, I was hooked. This stuff that was hard, yet soft, could be smooth, or rough...and could be moved and shaped with some tools.
Now I have been doing metalwork for over 30 years and it still fascinates me.

Wax is another favorite. Around the same time as my metal fascination, I startd looking out at the world wondering how everything moved, and wax was the same as metal. Hard, but would melt into liquid. I asked my mother to let me have a votive at night on the table next to my bed. Once the wax melted I would dip my finger into the wax a few times until there was enough wax coating my finger to shape it. I made an entire fishing village, with docks, little boats and people and fish in the boats.
Later as part of my metalworking, I went on the carve wax models for jewelry, and did all the wax work for a place that did casting. Now I just make candles. Plain and carved, poured and dipped..

I love beadwork, being able to take so many tiny seed beads and transform them into something solid yet flexible...playing with the colours.

Leatherwork, again because leather can be molded, softened, hardened...shaped into what we need it to be...I can bead on it, burn it for pyrography, stitch it, paint it... (funny enough I do not have the same passion for fabric. I can make clothing, but it doesn't fascinate me)

I love dyes, to transform fabric and yarn, leather and anything else that will take dye.

I semi love yarn...because I can create so many different things with it, from lace to bulky sweaters. I think because it is like soft wire. I can create things with yarn that I cannot with metal wire (but wish I could)

Most things I find a passion for are mediums that change form...though I do love carving wampum. Maybe for the connection to the ocean and the history, maybe because it is so hard and doesn't transform...

This year I am going to learn rug hooking...so we will see where that goes. I can dye the wool, draw the designs, and paint rugs with yarn and strips of wool...and it is a functional art. Will it become a passion? I don't know...maybe it will end up a skill that I use when we need a new rug, or maybe it will become an art form I find myself thinking of every day, with designs floating through my mind...

Anyways, the needle felting was fun, but the wool batting was like working with something that only partially transforms. It never quite feels finished...I may do a piece here and there as something fun to do...but I know it has not hooked me like the other mediums I work with.

I am speechless... you are so crafty, I never did anything with metal (ok... I love sword forms in Kung Fu and Tai Chi 😁) or leather. And I deeply admire you for your ability to truly create useful artworks and sculptural works. I find the last extremely challenging. And it is always interesting to hear how your artistic works are influenced by very early experiences like the wax world you created. May I are ask if you do metalwork for a living?
I on my part are making mostly “useless” art I stared very early with dance (and had a detour with playing violin and painting) but ended in a career as a dancer and choreographer. In this time, I was so fixed on dance, stage, and film, that I completely gave up all other creative things. After ending the dancing, I now slowly rediscover painting and music. And found a new love in yarn. Here I love everything: crochet, knitting and dyeing (and I got raw wool for Christmas… so perhaps I must learn to spin)
I really love to hear something so personal about you and your craftiness. Thank you💕

Your finger fairies are adorable, @elew! The more I see of needle felting, the more I love it. Great job. Happy #NeedleworkMonday to you!

Thank you :) It is a pretty cool craft!

I enjoyed seeing all the needle felting you've done @elew... They are all beautiful and I really like the way you have shown them. It is indeed inspiring... I am sure I've still got some fleece at home to try :)

Oh you should! It may not be my passion, but it is for others :) I would love to see what you create if you do try it...

I have not heard of needle felting before, but now I feel inspired to look it up. Your little figures are so fun, my daughter would love them. I am adding it to my 'to try' list!! Thank you so much for sharing :)

You are very welcome :) I looked around for eons for good tutorials, and so far Felt Alive has the best I have found. She has a whole forum set up where you can find many many videos on how to :) Have fun!!

Thanks for the tip

I love the little statue by the rock. The face details are amazing!

Thanks :)

Oh those are so cute! Nice job!

Thank you :) They were alot of fun to make!

Great work! such cute items. I really liked it, I will share with my friends).

Thank you :)

Beautiful felting, and your little faeries are so adorable! Looking forward to seeing some of your other work.

Thank you :) I make alot of things with needles...I think crochet might be next...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63342.09
ETH 2658.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81